Macadamia-Crusted Sea Bass with Mango Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
Since I am a huge fan of (Chilean) sea bass, I made this recipe several times and played with it before reviewing. In my opinion, the macadamia/bread crumb crust is not worth the trouble. Even when I increased the macadamia nuts and decreased the bread crumbs, there still is no discernable taste that makes the several steps of making and applying the crust worth the effort. In the future I will just bake/broil/grill the sea bass and forget the crust. The mango cream sauce is another story. It is excellent and makes for a great presentation. I have made it several times with heavy cream and several with Crème fraiche. I have used slightly green mangos and ripe mangos. I prefer to use the ripe mangos and if you live in an area where you have an upscale market that sells Crème fraiche (pronounced “Krem fresh”) there is no comparison. Always use it versus regular heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Killer!! I used wild salmon filets, brushed them with garlic infused olive oil, sprinkled with red Hawaiian sea salt and black pepper, then applied the nut mixture directly to the fish and baked at 450 for 15 minutes. Turned out spectacular; fish was moist and crust was toasted and slightly crunchy. Omitted red pepper flakes from nut mixture, added freshly grated nutmeg and 1/4 tsp. of brown sugar. Do not process nut mixture until smooth; that would make a paste, which would be bad. Pulse the mixture until it is light and crumbly, with plenty of nut chunks left, then apply lightly to fish without packing. I used fat free half and half for the sauce, and added freshly grated nutmeg, 1/4 cup of mango nectar, and a splash of vanilla (the good stuff, please) to the mango sauce. With fat free dairy and lemon juice your sauce will often separate or curdle; I pureed it at the end of cooking to smooth this out. Served with saffron rice and steamed broccoli. Next time I will use lime juice instead of lemon, and add a splash of coconut rum to the sauce. This recipe is just too good to miss- Thank you Deanna!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This is the best fish recipe I have ever prepared. I served it on a large white platter with the sauce poured across the middle of each piece and garnished with mache and add'l chopped macadamia nuts. To really jazz up the mango flavor since it's not always easy to find a real flavorful mango, I added 1/4 cup of mango nectar to the chopped mango (easily available at most grocers). Served it with orzo that I cooked in chicken broth with a splash of white wine, the juice of half a lemon, and some chopped parsley. An outstanding dish with great presentation and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
Delicious recipe! I didn't change anything except the type of fish I used. I used mahi mahi because certain kinds of sea bass have been terribly overfished due to irresponsible fishing methods. There are many excellent alternatives to sea bass (Chilean sea bass has been particularly overfished) that are more known for sustainable fishing practices. Mahi mahi and pacific halibut both have wonderful textures to complement this dish. Thanks for the recipe, I'll be making it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This recipe was awesome! An easy $30+ entree at any elegant restaurant. Hubby, who is slowly starting to like more fish, loved this! I love all kinds of fish so I knew it would be a keeper. Some substitutions I made: I used Del Monte jarred mango in extra light syrup because the store didnt have fresh. Also, I was told at the fish market that sea bass is not in season right now, so I used a nice fresh halibut fillet instead. I also used fresh garlic, which makes a world of difference in any recipe. As I was making this, hubby kept hanging around the kitchen - just smelled too good to keep him away! After pan searing it per the directions, I baked it at 400 degrees for 15 min. (I had a pretty thick halibut fillet so 350 would have taken forever) and that was perfect. After adding the macadamia crust, I broiled it for about a minute. Any longer and it would have burned, but it came out perfect!! The fish, the crust, and the mango sauce all work so well together. I sauteed up some zuchinni and made mushroom risotto as my sides. I can't wait to try the recipe again with sea bass. I'm going to make this for my parents for their anniversary, its that good. FYI - Definitely use macadamias - even though they can be expensive, the flavor is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2002
Delicious and easy to prepare. For the reviewer who had difficulty with the mango sauce: I used a combination of fat free half and half and skim milk so I don't think that's the problem. I do find when adding lemon juice to milk that it can curdle so I blended part of the sauce first, then put it on the stove at low heat to reduce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
Outstanding dish! I pureed the mango sauce in a blender for a smoother texture. Plus, the recipe called for baking after applying the crust; instead I broiled for just a few minutes until golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOOLEY1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
My husband and I love this recipe because of the texture that the nuts give the sea bass along with the contrasting salty and sweet taste of the garlic and fish mixing with the mango sauce. This is a recipe that we seldom have leftovers for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
this is delicious although i used lesscrema in the sauce because the fish is rich enough on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
WONDERFUL! I put a small dash of nutmeg in the crust mixture, and it was superb. Also, I used orange roughy instead of sea bass to economize. I just baked it at 375 for about 15 minutes, then added the crust & broiled, per another reviewer's recommendation. Thanks for this unforgettable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States