Macadamia-Crusted Sea Bass with Mango Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This was pretty tasty. I couldn't find sea bass, so I used marlin, and other than needing a little more cooking time due to their thickness, they were just fine. I also added more mango, a couple of drops of vanilla extract, and a dash of white pepper to the mango sauce. Served with steamed broccoli for a full, (somewhat) healthy, and delicious meal. I think next time I'll either half the topping or double the sauce though, as it was a bit dry for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I used butter instead of olive oil and drizzle some on top of the fish to increase the flavor. The mangoes didn't melt so the sauce was not smooth. It wasn't a very impressive sauce for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Very good. I used Chilean sea bass which is my favorite fish. I baked for 15 minutes because the filets were so thick. I broiled for 2 min and the topping burned. So next time I will cut it down to a min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Bishop Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I changed this around a little, but I still wanted to comment on how great it was! I coudlnt find macadamia's at my grocer, so I used sliced almonds. For the mango cream sauce, I started heating and stirring it, but I couldnt get to the right consistency so I threw it in my magic bullet and the texture was much better. I added a little salt to the sauce to cut down the sweetness. It came out great.... my fiance loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
My husband and I loved this recipe! I used rock fish since it was the only fresh, wild fish available and it tasted great. I made the following changes: substituted fat-free half & half for heavy cream; doubled the lemon juice; added 2 tsp of white rum to the mango cream; skipped the bread crumbs and red pepper flakes and the pan searing. Update: Tried this again with Orange Roughy and it was very tasty. Any white boneless fish would probably be great with this recipe. I served with sauted snow peas and soba noodles, both dressed with sesame oil, soy sauce, ginger and garlic. Gave the meal a Pan-Asian twist. 2nd Update: Tried this again with Halibut and skipped the Mango cream sauce entirely and it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
This fish is so good! I used tilapia filets instead of sea bass, and skipped the pan-searing step - I put the nut-crusted raw fish right in the oven. I turned on the broiler for a couple of minutes at the end to further brown the crust. The fish was very good, and the sauce complements it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
Great recipe. I used mahi mahi instead of halibut. The bread crumbs were too much though, next time I'll only use the crumbled nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This was amazing. I served it to 6 and everyone loved it (even my 4 and 6 year old nephews although one didn't like the mango sauce.) I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I havn't eaten fish since 1994 and I've been really closed minded about eating any type of fish, but this recipe has definately opened my mind up, I am slowly breaking into other fish. This one is an ABSOLUTELY GREAT recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I made this last night and hubby was VERY impressed! The fish came out perfect--very moist and the topping added to the presentation. I didn't have a mango, so I made the sauce with cream, parmesan cheese, lemon, and a splash of white wine. Will try the mango next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States