Macadamia-Crusted Sea Bass with Mango Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This was pretty tasty. I couldn't find sea bass, so I used marlin, and other than needing a little more cooking time due to their thickness, they were just fine. I also added more mango, a couple of drops of vanilla extract, and a dash of white pepper to the mango sauce. Served with steamed broccoli for a full, (somewhat) healthy, and delicious meal. I think next time I'll either half the topping or double the sauce though, as it was a bit dry for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I used butter instead of olive oil and drizzle some on top of the fish to increase the flavor. The mangoes didn't melt so the sauce was not smooth. It wasn't a very impressive sauce for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Very good. I used Chilean sea bass which is my favorite fish. I baked for 15 minutes because the filets were so thick. I broiled for 2 min and the topping burned. So next time I will cut it down to a min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Bishop Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I changed this around a little, but I still wanted to comment on how great it was! I coudlnt find macadamia's at my grocer, so I used sliced almonds. For the mango cream sauce, I started heating and stirring it, but I couldnt get to the right consistency so I threw it in my magic bullet and the texture was much better. I added a little salt to the sauce to cut down the sweetness. It came out great.... my fiance loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
My husband and I loved this recipe! I used rock fish since it was the only fresh, wild fish available and it tasted great. I made the following changes: substituted fat-free half & half for heavy cream; doubled the lemon juice; added 2 tsp of white rum to the mango cream; skipped the bread crumbs and red pepper flakes and the pan searing. Update: Tried this again with Orange Roughy and it was very tasty. Any white boneless fish would probably be great with this recipe. I served with sauted snow peas and soba noodles, both dressed with sesame oil, soy sauce, ginger and garlic. Gave the meal a Pan-Asian twist. 2nd Update: Tried this again with Halibut and skipped the Mango cream sauce entirely and it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
This fish is so good! I used tilapia filets instead of sea bass, and skipped the pan-searing step - I put the nut-crusted raw fish right in the oven. I turned on the broiler for a couple of minutes at the end to further brown the crust. The fish was very good, and the sauce complements it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
Great recipe. I used mahi mahi instead of halibut. The bread crumbs were too much though, next time I'll only use the crumbled nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This was amazing. I served it to 6 and everyone loved it (even my 4 and 6 year old nephews although one didn't like the mango sauce.) I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I havn't eaten fish since 1994 and I've been really closed minded about eating any type of fish, but this recipe has definately opened my mind up, I am slowly breaking into other fish. This one is an ABSOLUTELY GREAT recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I made this last night and hubby was VERY impressed! The fish came out perfect--very moist and the topping added to the presentation. I didn't have a mango, so I made the sauce with cream, parmesan cheese, lemon, and a splash of white wine. Will try the mango next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States