Macadamia-Crusted Sea Bass with Mango Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Couldn't even get the mango cream sauce to come out. I made it twice, and both times it curdled - the first time due to the heat? the second time due to the lemon juice? I really couldn't figure out how the heat and lemon wouldn't curdle the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Sorry to be the odd one but we just didn't care for this at all. The cream sauce was too heavy for our liking. However, our one year old ate it pretty well hence, 2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This sea bass was very very good. I loved it! Just make sure that you don't overburn the nuts on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This is absolutely a tasty dish! I forgot to pick up macadamia nuts, so I used almonds as a replacement. It was great, although I'd still like to try the macadamia's next time I make this. The mango cream sauce was the perfect addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
So freaking good. We made this with mahi mahi instead of sea bass. The macademia crust was delicious. The sauce curdled both times we attempted to make it, so instead we simply chopped up the mango and put it on top. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Took some time to make, but oh so delicious! I used mahi mahi, and I'm so impressed with how delicious this was! I did sweeten the mango sauce a tad with white sugar and added vanilla extract as another had mentioned. Otherwise the recipe was followed exactly. I was initially worried about this medley of flavors, but now I'm blown away!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
My husband and I thought the fish needed extra seasoning. It did not have the "kick" that we were looking for. The mango cream sauce was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
To be honest, I'm not sure this even rated 4 stars ...which really surprises me considering the reviews...maybe I didn't execute it well. But I thought the sea bass (I used a chilean sea bass) was wayyy too fatty (never knew it was soo much like catfish) & the crust, while tasty, added a lot more fat & calories than I would like on a healthy dish like fish. I cooked my suace down until it was thick (too thick really) so there was no need to puree the mango & I did add a bit of coconut rum. I didn't add it until the end because I didn't want to cook all the flavor out but it was still a little too subtle. Dark rum would add more flavor. The only changes I made to the recipe, (aside from the rum) was to use cashews instead of macadamia nuts because that's what I had. I garnished w/ a bit of fresh, diced mango (should ahve thrown something green on it too). I'm not happy w/ the way I plated it either...wish I had taken advantage of my too-thick sauce & made a "shmear" across the plate & left the beautiful nut crust of the fish bare. I served this w/ Sugared Asparagus, Hawaiian Slaw & Haupia for dessert. Thansk for lettng me try it but I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I used halibut wich came out nicely but watch out for bones. I subbed smoked almonds that I crushed in the food processer instead of macadamia nuts. The mango sauce worked very well! I omitted the red pepper and instead of seasoned bread crumbs, I used plain because I thought it would be a better backdrop to the mango sauce and I think it was. I've used this mango sauce successfully with talapia too. Overall, a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
WOW. Great recipe. I also added 1/4 cup of sweet coconut and zest of 1 lime with the nuts. And also used panko crumbs seasoned with old bay. I to puree the sauce make for better plating. thanks so much, will be trying this with shrimp and chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States