Macadamia-Crusted Sea Bass with Mango Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
One of the BEST recipes on this site! I used catfish instead of the Sea Bass & it was excellent! The flavors really mingled nicely. This is definitely going to be a recipe that's repeated in my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEFANY21
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Macadamia nuts are ambitious. Just try to name a legume as delicious. Cashews, almonds, pecans? Please, I just washed my hands. This meal makes me want to sleep with the fishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I used about 3/4 a mango and subbed cashews for the macadamia and flounder fillets for the sea bass. Very tasty - especially the mango cream sauce. Unlike another reviewer, I would not omit the nut/crumb coating, as it added a complimentary texture with the sauce. I left out the olive oil from the bread crumb mixture. This is an easy, tasty recipe for many kinds of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Excellent. My wife does not like nuts, so we replaced nuts with Ritz crackers. This works but doesn't have the same crunch factor. We will definitely try this with different kinds of fish in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by THERUIZ
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I made this wonderful recipe for my husband on valentines day. The only change that I made was to broil the topping for 1-2 minutes at the end. My husband can't stop raving about how good it was! Thanks for the recipe. I did use sea bass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I also substituted the Sea Bass for salmon for ethical purposes, and it came out superbly! I used light cream instead of heavy, and added coconut milk and fresh corn to the sauce along with a slew of spices. The end result was divine. I may try to make the sauce into a seafood bisque next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I made this for a large family gathering. At the time I could not find a ripe mango...anywhere...so I used jarred mango. The sauce was not quite as colorful but it was absolutely devine!!! I bought extra sea bass and was worried that there wouldn't be enough and there wasn't a crumb left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndirella65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lyons, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
The only change I made was 2 tablespoons of sweet Asian chili sauce. This kicked up the taste a little without overpowering it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
The only reason I give 4 stars instead of 5 is that I don't think the macadamia nut crust was necessary. It doesn't crisp up well and is completely masked by the DELICIOUS mango cream sauce. I'm thinking you could use this base to make any type of creamy fruit sauce. We used mahi mahi since sea bass wasn't available and I think any white fish would be delicious with this sauce, as would chicken. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This recipe is ridiculously amazing! FYI - after years of using this website, this recipe motivated me to get off my butt to register for a profile so that I could post a review. Its literally that good. I prepared 2 for each person and even though I meant to eat both, I forced myself to save one just so that I could enjoy this again tomorrow! WOW. I followed it pretty closely (little more cream, little more lemon, little more macadamia), but one extra step I added was to use old bay seasoning prior to the oven step. I would think this work excellent with tilapia as well, since its a similar mild white flesh fish, more economical as well. Deanna - who posted this recipe - thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States