Macadamia-Crusted Sea Bass with Mango Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I have never cooked Sea Bass before and I really felt like I was going out on a limb here cooking this as a first timer. All I can say is "Oh My ***"! This was SO SO good. The Macadamia nuts and the Mango are seemingly meant to go with the sea Bass. I am rarely so moved by a recipe on this site that I actually come back to leave feedback. I served it with Parmesan Risotto (from a box) and sauted up some zucchini as my veggie. Best part of all, this was supremely easy, but looks like a 5 star dish from a fancy italian restaurant. Try it once, you'll be so glad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Great dish. I'd highly reccommend this to anyone who enjoys the taste of nuts and creme. This is very rich dish, but the taste is amazing. Go light with the crust (Sprinkle lightly to evenly cover fish, but don't over do it with a thick layer). Additionally, easy on the creme sauce as its very rich as stated and a little goes a long way. I used sea bass marinated in black bean sauce. If you're in the NY area, go to China town for fresh fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This recipe is awesome! Be very careful though, when I put the fish too close to the broiler, the nuts caught on fire. But once I put it out and scraped off the burned nuts, my dinnner guests raved. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
In the country with more fish consumed per capita than anywhere in the world, I never seem to be able to find the right fish! No sea bass in Japan in October, apparently, so I used swordfish. I would recommend marinating the fish a little beforehand in sake or white wine to cut down on the fishiness. I also highly recommend blending the sauce before simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tsu, Mie, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
This was a nice recipe. Although had to make few changes to it. You can try it too. Macadamia nuts cost a bit too much for me so I replaced them with cashews and creme fraiche works really nicelly with the mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
Living next to the ocean in California I'm always looking for new good fish recipes and this one was very tasty!! I used Halibut and it came out great. Also, used a tropical salsa for the cream sauce and as it was cooking I used a stick blender to puree it. Gave it a little bit more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
This is such a good recipie! I used mahi mahi and it is absolutely devine. It is surprising quick to make as well. I've already passed it on to several people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
I enjoyed this recipe, but used Snapper instead, and still found it very good. I did broil the nut crust to get a nice brown texture, and i also blended in some fresh basil into the macadamia crust. It was a big hit. For summer I served this with a spinach salad, topped with avocado and mango chunks with lemon and tarragon dressing, instead of rice or potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
Excellent! I had to use jarred mango b/c my grocer didnt have fresh. I also added a dash of nutmeg to the mac. crust. I used med-high heat to sear the fish for 1 min. per side before baking. I baked at 375F for 12 mins- then added the crust- then broiled for 2 mins. I served the mango sauce around the fish along side Lipton's Wild Rice and a lemon slice. This is one of my top 'Looks fou fou but is easy to make' recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
Very tasty. I didn't use the red pepper flakes (I can hardly take coarse black pepper) and it was fine. I broiled it to brown the topping, as was suggested in reviews. Sea bass is expensive and difficult to find in a regular grocery store, so I'll try something different next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States