Macadamia-Crusted Sea Bass with Mango Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I had to use cod instead of sea bass. I served with angel hair pasta. Next time I would blend the cream sauce after cooking to get a smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Made this for my wife and her mom on Mother's Day and it was a total winner! As some others have commented, I used the broiler after adding the crust. I think this is the way to go, you don't want to over cook such a nice piece of fish. The one thing I would have changed is that I would have pureed the mango sauce after cooking to make it nice and smooth. I mashed it up in the sauce pan and it came out fine, I just think the presentation could have gone from good to great. Served with a portobello risotto that was also a total win. If there was one drawback to this dish it was that Chilean sea bass is currently going for $17.99/lb near me, so that keeps this reserved for special occasions. Having said that, I think this recipe would be excellent on something as cheap as the tilapia we get at Costco. That could make this a Tuesday night recipe instead of just special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handbri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I was really expecting this recipe to be amazing from the reviews but for me is was really lacking. I followed the recipe but had to blend the mangos. I didn't add any other ingredients to it but wish I was tasting the sauce as I went along because I felt like it definitely needed something more. The crust was good tasting but would have been better if it stuck and got not just brown but a little crispy. It was fun to cook dinner with mangos though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
We liked it I just wasnt over the top in love with it....nto quite sure what I would change to get it there either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
the sauce was too thin...maybe puree all the ingredients before putting them in to boil?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is my favorite way to eat fish. I get it only occasionally because sea bass is expensive. The mango cream sauce is divine and I have used the sauce on baked pork chops and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Sauce could use a little something. Not sure what yet. I might double the amount of sauce next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This was out of this world good! After searing the bass, I put them on a cookie sheet to bake but coated them with the nut/breadcrumb mixture right from the start and it came out perfect! Didn't have time to do the mango cream sauce but will try next time. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPPYPUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I love this dish! It makes my mouth water just thinking aboutit. But to eat it is a dream come true!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Excellent recipe! I had leftover mangos that were too soft to eat, but were perfect for the recipe! Used this with tilapia instead of sea bass and it came out excellent! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States