Mac and Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I was a little skeptical when I first saw this recipe, and when I went grocery shopping bought a few things to add to the recipe if I didn't like it. However, once I finished the directions, I tasted it and fell in love!! I made too much macaroni, so it turned out more like actual mac n cheese (and after it set overnight, it really WAS) but I adored it. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I have to admit, I was surprised at how well this turned out. I had never heard of mac and cheese soup and mostly tried the recipe out of curiosity, but it tasted really great! I'm pretty sure my husband would have eaten the whole pot on his own. I did add a can of tomatoes with green chilies, just because it seemed like it needed a little more color. Super easy and pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I followed the recipe exact, only cutting the recipe in half though I did not cut the bacon in half, I kept that the same. For us, the chicken bouillion made this way too salty. We really could not eat past a couple bites. I'd make this again but omit it all together--I think it would be much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Thank you, Luv2Cook, for this quick and satisfying soup recipe! I whipped this up with what I had in my pantry on the fly so had to sub for the jarred cheese sauce. I used one can of Campbell's Cheddar Cheese Soup and 4 oz. of Velveeta cheese chunks. Everything else was made per the recipe. Next time I will dial back the chicken bouillon to one tablespoon. We're a little salt/sodium sensitive. Thank you again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I was so excited to try this! I found it to be way too salty. The chicken bouillon I believe put it over the top. I will try this again but lessen the amount of bouillon if not omit it all together. Also may try a low sodium broth. It was very easy to put together and would have tasted great otherwise! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
WITHSOME MINOR TWEAKING LOVED IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JTTERWELP
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
My 12-year-old daughter and I made this together. We really liked it, though we did make some changes. We didn't have jar cheese sauce so we made "Glen's Cheese Sauce." I think I would always use that as the cheese base instead of something processed. We decided to leave out the bouillon and just added more chicken broth at the end to thin the consistency out a little. We were confused by what "ground red chili pepper" is exactly. We replaced with cayenne pepper. Wow! That was spicy, which we both like. But I can't serve it to my son, so I think we would reduce that by half or use paprika instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JTTERWELP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Kids and adults LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Made this soup for dinner. Only thing I did different was substitute ground beef for the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by june11polarbear
Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States