Mac and Cheese II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
This recipe is awesome! I've been making it for a while now... I made it again tonight and decided to write a review this time because it's repeated deeeelicious! I started topping it with parmesan cheese and Italian bread crumbs before putting it in the oven, it gives it a great touch. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
I add a tsp. of dry mustard and some onion powder to the liquid. I also top my casserole with a good amount of shredded cheddar and top that with seasoned bread crumbs and then dot with butter. Great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
First off, I doubled the recipe. After melting the butter, I added 1 chopped yellow onion and two cloves of garlic, minced. After browning the flour and adding the milk, I added 2 tsp. black pepper, 1 tsp. both worstershire sauce and Frank's Red Hot sauce and 1 14.5 c. diced tomatoes including the liquid. The sauce became a little too thick so I probably added a about 3/4 c. more of milk and then gradually added sharp cheddar and then the processed cheese. I made sure to cook the pasta just BARELY al dente as it always cooks a bit more in the oven and I didn't want the end result to be mushy. After I sprayed the casserole dish with Pam, I added the mac & cheese and then topped it off with about 1/2 c. each of bread crumbs and shredded cheddar. The flavor was wonderful, but the sauce was a little thick. I think that next time I will reduce the flour by half. Thanks Kristin for your yummy mac & cheese recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Why do people write their changes and rate the recipe? Shouldn't they first make it exactly like it is written and then rate it and then maybe suggest changes? Even though I didn't make it yet, I think it sounds delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I used cheddar, and mozzarella and no processed cheese. It turned out fantastic! Even my fussy kids ate it! I will make this again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
this is a very good basic recipe. like other reviewers, I added some spices (salt, onion powder, ground mustard, worcestershire sauce) and topped with bread crumbs. also, instead of elbows, we use bowtie pasta. sometimes I'll add some good cubed ham to the mixture before putting it in the casserole dish, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This recipe is good, not great. Like other reviewers have said, it is a good basic recipe to build on. I don't like that the recipe uses so much processed cheese, though. I wonder if there's a way to get the creamy texture without all the Velveeta?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This was AWESOME!! I did use a little more cheese and added garlic and onion powder... I may try the worchesture sauce this time...I'm actually making it for the second time tonight.. I made it for my boyfriend the first time and he was asking for more ..He even said that it was the The BEST mac and cheese he'd ever had!!! Thank you for a great recipe I'll be using for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I added a dash of garlic powder, pepper and used ritz crackers on top. It was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GEOTONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Island Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I prefer a more southern-style mac'n'cheese, but my family loved it to death. If you like the crunchy, rich mac'n'cheese of the south, find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WCCLARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States