Mac and Cheese II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Great basic recipe! If you are a blander eater it is fine as is. If you want to kick it up...go for it. We like it kicked up....I seldom make mac n cheese due to mac n cheese not being a healthy meal no matter the recipe. When I do make it I do it the same as this recipe however add things I have on hand. Tonight I did a mirepoix of celery, red pepper, jalapeno pepper and the white parts (base) of a few green onions. Then did the roux. I added garlic powder, dry mustard, pepper (no added salt), and a splash of Worcestershire....plus a little Parmesan. I topped with the only thing I had on hand...which was Cheese-its. Enjoy, it is a comfy food recipe that you can eat as is...or build it to you desire...don't be afraid. BTW, served with leftover smoked root beer can chicken and peas YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Withbull

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I tried this recipe and actually added bacon and spinach just to spice it up a tad. oh was it yummy. Thanks for the basic idea on a old fashion favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Love it! I make this recipe all of the time now. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This was my first attempt at homemade mac-n-cheese. Given that,it turned out really really good! Seemed a bit thick and gooy, so I may increase the milk next time, how ever with just myself and my wife there is enough left for 2 or 3 more meals. As others suggested I may try a bit of dry mustard to ad a little zing. I served this with extra large boiled shrimp and fresh lima beans, made a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Oh my goodness, sometimes the simplest is the best! I rated this as is before I added anything to it. It's a really good basic mac and cheese recipe, but the flavors were a little weak and sort of nondescript for my taste, so I added to it some Dijon mustard (for an entire package of macaroni I made this sauce and added about a tablespoon, maybe 1 1/2 tablespoons) and some kosher salt to make the flavors "pop". I loved the additions and thought they added so much to an already great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This was a simple and delicious way to make Mac & Cheese, without just opening a box from the supermarket! A few easy steps and you've got a great dinner for the kids. I actually created my own version of a Buffalo Chicken Mac & Cheese, starting with this recipe. I then layered 1/2 the Mac & cheese in a 2 quart casserole dish, then added buffalo chicken (In skillet, melt 1 1/2 Tbl butter, and 1/4 Cup Frank's Hot Sauce. Mix in 1 1/2 Cups cooked, cubed chicken breast). Then top layer is the remainder of the Mac & Cheese. Cover & Bake as directed in this above recipe. ~ This received rave reviews by all at the dinner table. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Long Island Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
So yummy for the tummy...but not for the waistline. Made this for a family b-que and it was gone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
no major cheesy taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Delicious! I used a 4 cheese Italian blend in place of the cheddar, tiny shell macaroni and topped it w/ seasoned panko crumbs before baking. This came out perfectly creamy and yummy! I will be making this one again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I've been looking for a while for a good mac n' cheese recipe and I think this is the base for it. I changed it by adding a few extra ingredients, but this recipe gives the perfect combination of base ingredients for a not-too-dry mac n' cheese. I added finely diced jalapeno peppers, finely chopped dried tomatoes (in oil), substituted goat cheese for the processed cheese, and substituted some of the milk with heavy cream. Finally, I added about 1/4 tsp. of dry mustard. Oh, I almost forgot--I combined 1/2 cup fine bread crumbs with 1/2 cup freshly grated parmesan for the topping. It was the best mac n' cheese I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States