Mac and Cheese II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this recipe step-by-step for a family gathering. It was a big hit! It is thick and creamy. The second time I did it I added toasted breadcrumbs (I am new to cooking) and that was even better. By the third time I made it, I got adventurous. I'm from the South and my grandma sometimes used heavy whipping cream as a substitute for milk. I made 16 servings (32 oz. elbows) with 6 cups of whole milk and 2 cups of heavy whipping cream. The consistency was much thicker, almost like a casserole, but it was even more popular with my family. We had plenty of leftovers.......which were excellent battered up and FRIED!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Excellent! Very yummy. Unfortunately, it did not keep very well for us past the one day mark - but we feel that this may be the nature of the pasta, so my only suggestion would be to just make what you're going to eat that night. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVProBeauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This was a huge hit! The only thing I added was a tsp of onion powder, worcestershire sauce, and 1/4 tsp of black pepper. If you did not add these spices, it would still turn out great the way it's stated...I just wanted a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnrandles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is a really good recipe. I use half and half instead of milk, and shredded mild cheddar and white sharp cheddar for the "cups" portion of the recipe. For the processed cheese, I use 1lb 1/2 American cheese and 1/2 lb muenster cheese sliced from the deli. I add a pinch of mustard powder, and season to taste with garlic powder, onion powder, fresh ground pepper a little Kosher salt and a little of Lowry's Seasoning ( don't use a lot of salt because cheese is a bit salty anyway). The key is to taste the cheese mixture to make sure it tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Great basic recipe! If you are a blander eater it is fine as is. If you want to kick it up...go for it. We like it kicked up....I seldom make mac n cheese due to mac n cheese not being a healthy meal no matter the recipe. When I do make it I do it the same as this recipe however add things I have on hand. Tonight I did a mirepoix of celery, red pepper, jalapeno pepper and the white parts (base) of a few green onions. Then did the roux. I added garlic powder, dry mustard, pepper (no added salt), and a splash of Worcestershire....plus a little Parmesan. I topped with the only thing I had on hand...which was Cheese-its. Enjoy, it is a comfy food recipe that you can eat as is...or build it to you desire...don't be afraid. BTW, served with leftover smoked root beer can chicken and peas YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Withbull

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I tried this recipe and actually added bacon and spinach just to spice it up a tad. oh was it yummy. Thanks for the basic idea on a old fashion favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Love it! I make this recipe all of the time now. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This was my first attempt at homemade mac-n-cheese. Given that,it turned out really really good! Seemed a bit thick and gooy, so I may increase the milk next time, how ever with just myself and my wife there is enough left for 2 or 3 more meals. As others suggested I may try a bit of dry mustard to ad a little zing. I served this with extra large boiled shrimp and fresh lima beans, made a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Oh my goodness, sometimes the simplest is the best! I rated this as is before I added anything to it. It's a really good basic mac and cheese recipe, but the flavors were a little weak and sort of nondescript for my taste, so I added to it some Dijon mustard (for an entire package of macaroni I made this sauce and added about a tablespoon, maybe 1 1/2 tablespoons) and some kosher salt to make the flavors "pop". I loved the additions and thought they added so much to an already great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This was a simple and delicious way to make Mac & Cheese, without just opening a box from the supermarket! A few easy steps and you've got a great dinner for the kids. I actually created my own version of a Buffalo Chicken Mac & Cheese, starting with this recipe. I then layered 1/2 the Mac & cheese in a 2 quart casserole dish, then added buffalo chicken (In skillet, melt 1 1/2 Tbl butter, and 1/4 Cup Frank's Hot Sauce. Mix in 1 1/2 Cups cooked, cubed chicken breast). Then top layer is the remainder of the Mac & Cheese. Cover & Bake as directed in this above recipe. ~ This received rave reviews by all at the dinner table. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Long Island Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States