Mac and Cheese II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Great foundation! I just add some salt, pepper, paprika, onion powder, garlic powder and hot sauce to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Absolutely tastes like school Mac n cheese. Must use grated Parmesan on top bc it's missing something. Used Italian bread crumbs but didn't like how they made the topping chewy. Neither did my daughter. Honestly for the cost of ingredients I bought this same flavor of macaroni and cheese--- frozen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Basic recipe but a huge fan favorite with my family and extended family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I make this recipe once a week since i found it. Its awesome, and so easy to make. It was very close to my mothers mac and cheese, so I went ahead, and added small cubes of muenster cheese, and a can of drained whole tomato squashed up, and topped it off with cubed swiss and bread crumbs. tastes like childhood!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
If I'm going to have to thicken a cheese sauce with something, I'd sooner do that with cheese than flour. In other words, the flour called for in this recipe was double what I was comfortable using while at the same time the cheese sauce looked like it could certainly use more cheese! I did cut the flour in half and doubled the Cheddar cheese and we were completely happy with the result. Not sure I would have liked the thicker, more "floury," less cheesy sauce this would have produced had I not made those adjustments. As I generally do when I make macaroni and cheese (which admittedly isn't often) I topped it with crushed crostini before baking. (Buttered bread crumbs would be great too) Don't forget to add salt and pepper to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This is my favorite mac n cheese ever! It's so good and super cheesy! My family begs me to make it for every gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
It was ok. I normally don't make a cheese sauce so my mac and cheese turns out thick and I was trying to make a creamier dish. This wasn't any creamier and the cheese flavor was weaker. I don't usually bake it, either, and still don't see any reason to. Not inedible but not worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Excellent!! This has become a family favorite. I make it exactly as written and we can't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This stuff was great. I made 100 servings for a wedding and everyone raved. Sooo creamy. I added crushed club crackers and extra cheddar to the top before baking and I put some pepper and powdered mustard in the roux, just because I always have before but those aren't the key because this is the best recipe I have ever used. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this recipe step-by-step for a family gathering. It was a big hit! It is thick and creamy. The second time I did it I added toasted breadcrumbs (I am new to cooking) and that was even better. By the third time I made it, I got adventurous. I'm from the South and my grandma sometimes used heavy whipping cream as a substitute for milk. I made 16 servings (32 oz. elbows) with 6 cups of whole milk and 2 cups of heavy whipping cream. The consistency was much thicker, almost like a casserole, but it was even more popular with my family. We had plenty of leftovers.......which were excellent battered up and FRIED!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States