Mac and Cheese II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I thought this recipe was great. I followed the recipe except instead of putting the shredded cheddar in with the velveeta, I put it on top and then baked it. Very cheesy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Urbana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I really hate to be critical but this recipe is quite bland as indicated by other reviewers. I even seasoned the sauce and added minced onion. I had to use up processed cheese left over from Super Bowl so I chose to make this recipe. To be fair, processed cheese has a funky, yucky taste by nature so I think that made the dish taste that way. I guess I'm definitely not a fan of those big bricks of fake cheese. However, I will say that I agree that this is a great basic recipe that can be modified with better tasting cheese and much seasoning. My husband said that the dish does need more cheese than the two cups in the recipe and I think I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taco Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I change a couple of things. Instead of the 8oz. of processed cheese I used 8oz. of cream of chicken. I also used a small onion minced and add teaspoon of black pepper and garlic powder you can do it to your taste. I also used shells pasta, my sons request. You can use 10.5oz can of cream of chicken to make it more creamy. This was a great starter recipe. I am going to make it again. My family loved it. You could add a pinch of cayenne pepper if you want a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coot226
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Very Good !!! Nice and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
QUICK AND EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This recipe is good, not great. Like other reviewers have said, it is a good basic recipe to build on. I don't like that the recipe uses so much processed cheese, though. I wonder if there's a way to get the creamy texture without all the Velveeta?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Made as part of Christmas dinner. The best mac & cheese recipe I've found so far. It was really creamy. Might try and add some extra cheese on top next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I added a dash of garlic powder, pepper and used ritz crackers on top. It was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GEOTONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Island Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This was a very smooth and cheesy version of Mac & Cheese. I liked it but didn't love it. Not bad though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
First off, I doubled the recipe. After melting the butter, I added 1 chopped yellow onion and two cloves of garlic, minced. After browning the flour and adding the milk, I added 2 tsp. black pepper, 1 tsp. both worstershire sauce and Frank's Red Hot sauce and 1 14.5 c. diced tomatoes including the liquid. The sauce became a little too thick so I probably added a about 3/4 c. more of milk and then gradually added sharp cheddar and then the processed cheese. I made sure to cook the pasta just BARELY al dente as it always cooks a bit more in the oven and I didn't want the end result to be mushy. After I sprayed the casserole dish with Pam, I added the mac & cheese and then topped it off with about 1/2 c. each of bread crumbs and shredded cheddar. The flavor was wonderful, but the sauce was a little thick. I think that next time I will reduce the flour by half. Thanks Kristin for your yummy mac & cheese recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States