Mac and Cheese II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I had high expectations of this recipe and while I followed it exactly, it was extremely bland and tasteless. After adding some seasoned bread crumbs, a LOT of extra cheese, quite a few seasonings, salt, it was a lot better. I will say though that it was really creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weaverville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Tasted good with a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
MERRY CHRISTMAS! I have made this recipe several times and have it in the oven right now for Christmas dinner. Family are on their way and this is one of the side dishes that my sons requested. Thanks for such a good mac and cheese recipe. We all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I was searching for the perfect mac & cheese recipe, and found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maery

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunny Isles Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Very Good! This is exactly what I was looking for. I've always just made my mac and cheese from scratch, with no recipe, I just winged it. So, this time I decided to look for something very similar to what I typically make. This recipe calls for no spices, so I added some salt, pepper, and onion powder. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Nice recipe. If I'd had it my way I would've fried some onions in with the butter to give it more flavor but the hubby turned his nose up at that idea! I suppose adding other goodies would have been nice but sometimes less is better with an old standby such as this. All in all it is as about as close as one can get to Grandma's homemade stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I prefer a more southern-style mac'n'cheese, but my family loved it to death. If you like the crunchy, rich mac'n'cheese of the south, find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WCCLARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This was just okay. It didn't have any problems really. I've just had it taste better using another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARRYGIRLB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I thought this recipe was great. I followed the recipe except instead of putting the shredded cheddar in with the velveeta, I put it on top and then baked it. Very cheesy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Urbana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I really hate to be critical but this recipe is quite bland as indicated by other reviewers. I even seasoned the sauce and added minced onion. I had to use up processed cheese left over from Super Bowl so I chose to make this recipe. To be fair, processed cheese has a funky, yucky taste by nature so I think that made the dish taste that way. I guess I'm definitely not a fan of those big bricks of fake cheese. However, I will say that I agree that this is a great basic recipe that can be modified with better tasting cheese and much seasoning. My husband said that the dish does need more cheese than the two cups in the recipe and I think I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taco Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States