Mac and Cheese II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I made this for a Christmas dinner. Everyone raved about it and I will make it again for my family. It was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington Court House, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I have used this white sauce recipe for years and years, but with a full pound of pre-cooked pasta. When the white sauce is hot and bubbly I add a large block of cheddar cheese (grated or cut up into chunks), 16 oz block of Velvetta (cut into chunks), 2 lbs of cooked, drained and cut-up bacon, then pour over the pre-cooked pasta when cheeses are melted, topping with Italian bread crumbs before popping into the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Turin, New York, USA
Living In: Casselberry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This is really good! I added a dash of onion powder to the flour, and I think it added a little depth to the flavor. Also, I wanted a really creamy macaroni, so I didn't bake it at all! After mixing the cheeses with the pasta, I just let it rest for about 10 minutes, and it was the perfect, ultra-creamy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was really easy and good. I may reduce the flour as the cheese sauce was a little too thick for me. Otherwise, really nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Only recomendation might be to us a larger surface area bakeing dish if you like more of the top a little crisp. Other than that my family & I really enjoyed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This recipe was really good. I took the advice of some other reviewers and added some salt, pepper and some garlic for additional flavor and it turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air force wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Very easy and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jordan
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I have been making this for awhile and with a few changes this is a keeper. I add mustard powder and onion powder in with the flour. Then I mix in 1/2 cup of sour cream to the cheese mixture right before putting it in the baking dish. I add bread crumbs to the top for some crunch. I also usually add chopped chicken to the mac and cheese for a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
this was delicious...but i used mozarella cheese, and didn't use the processed cheese. i also added a layer of ground beef in the middle.. my mom and all my sisters loved it. i will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Based on the reviews I read, this is a good base recipe, but needs more flavor. I'm not fond of velveeta, so I reduced it to 6oz. I also used 1/4c. chddar, 1/4c. colby, 1/4c. montery jack cheeses. I also added nutmeg to cheese sauce. After I moved everything to mixing bowl, i used 1/4 c. milk, i beaten egg, paprika, cayenne, salt, pepper, and a dash of hot sauce, whisked it all together and mixed with everything else. topped it with shredded cheddar, parm, bread crumbs, then dotted it with butter; which gave it a wonderful 'top crust' if u will. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrankieNeedlz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States