Mac and Cheese Henwood Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This recipe asks for four ounces of macaroni. Four ounces is about a cup. The amount of sauce this makes is WAY too much for one cup of pasta! Luckily I made 8 ounces, thinking this was going to be a problem. It was creamy, but I couldn't taste the blue cheese at all! It needed garlic too, I thought. If the measurements were right, then this would be a nice, creamy pasta but save your blue cheese for something you can taste it in! My favorite recipe is still Mom's Macaroni and Cheese (submitted by Maria Costello).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Contrary to the other reviewer's statements, this recipe calls for 8 oz or 1/2 a package of pasta, which I found to be just the right amount to support the amazing, cheesy, rich sauce. I omitted the onion to suit personal taste, but followed the recipe for everything else. This is grown up Mac and cheese! Thanks for sharing, Tiger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
i loved this recipe and the family is always asking me bring for events.I too use dried minced onion but used gremelli pasta instead ...I also have added panko bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paddy68

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Very tasty! Best mac and cheese I think I have ever made! The blue cheese adds a great flavor! I doubled recipe and only used 3 cups of milk. I also added a little more processed cheese and cheddar cheese just to be sure I had enough of the sauce. I also used Tastefully Simple Onion Onion rather than fresh onion and added chunks of ham. It made a great dinner! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Oh my! This mac and cheese is absolutely delicious. I did double the pasta, so I automatically doubled the cheese sauce. Next time, I will only make one and half times the cheese sauce, because it was a little much for a pound of pasta. I tried it right out of the pan and it is just as delicious as baked. It is a sophisticated version of mac and cheese that adults and children will love. The blend of cheeses was perfect and I thought the blue cheese came through beautifully, since sometimes it can be overpowering. Thanks for the great recipe. It is going to be a definite keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This was a really nice mac and cheese recipe. I used more onion than called for (like 1/4 cup total), slightly more velveeta (for a more cheesier flavor) and after tasting it and deciding it needed a little something more, about 1/2 teaspoon granulated garlic. Next time I will use fresh garlic (1-2 cloves), and cook it with the onions. When I first tasted the sauce on it's own I wasn't impressed, but once I added the noodles and baked it, the flavors melded perfectly. Don't be fooled by the amount of blue cheese used, you can definately taste it, but in a good way. I will use this recipe again from time to time for something different from the norm! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Absolutely loved it!! I made it for my family, even the picky eaters were eating 2 more helpings of it. Before I put it in the oven i shredded a block of cheddar cheese on top of the dish it was delicious! i loved how the blue chees gave it a totally different kick. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I wish I could give this 4 1/2 stars. It is really tasty and great overall, but the texture wasn't as creamy as I would have liked. Maybe it was something I did, but it seemed perfectly creamy after I cooked the sauce, then was slightly chauky after baking. Still excellent and I will make it again. The blue cheese tasted great! I subbed the 1/4 c. cheddar for 1/2 c. of a sharp, medium, and white cheddar mixture, then topped the whole thing with more of this cheese mixture. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
My family and I enjoyed this recipe! I think I did 1.5 times to get enough. Next time I might try more blue cheese for a sharper taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Delicious. Something my picky two year old and I both love! I added ham and breadcrumbs and will add broccoli next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States