Mac and Cheese Henwood Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This is the most awesome mac&cheese recipe ever! I used to not care that much for homemade mac&cheese because it seemed bland and dry. This recipe is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
We love this recipe! I double it & add browned hamburger. My kids go nuts for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
If you like your Mac and cheese creamy and soft, this is NOT for you!!! I found it bitter and dry, even though I love blue cheese. I would rather have a box of kraft over this any day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
FABULOUS! My boyfriend said it might be too good!I made some changes to try and make it a bit healthier and it went unnoticed! I substituted an entire box (14.5 oz) of Ronzoni Smart Taste Rotini (purple box) to reduce the calories, used skim milk and AP whole wheat flour. Used the whole stick of margarine but could probably get away with 1/2. Also used Gorgonzola and Sharp Cheddar for more flavor and topped the mac & cheese with some Parmesan/Romano blend and plain bread crumbs then sprayed it with Pam so it would brown up. So flavorful and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BMotchan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I'm giving this recipe 5-stars because the sauce is incredible. I do agree with a previous reviewer that you do need more noodles 1 cup/8oz is not enough. Other than that, the flour/milk/butter combination is perfect. You can build off of this by adding more than just onions...you could do garlic, red pepper flakes, or whatever suits your tastes. I added ham/bacon just for some meat. You can also vary your cheeses based on your preferences as well. Way to go...again, the secret is in the flour/butter/milk ratio...the rest you can alter to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This was fantastic! I used elbow mac because that's what I had on hand and used butter instead of margarine and garlic instead of onion. I also went a little heavy on the blue cheese. I did put it in the oven for 20 min but think that step was totally unnecessary as it was awesome straight out of the pan. My sauce was perfect and didn't need to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Loved this mac & cheese, this recipe gives a whole new meaning to comfort food. I also doubled the pasta too. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazy~cat~lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Larned, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This Tasted Amazing! It was a little dry so milk would help. Also add some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readyrush11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Rich and creamy and easy to make. I thought it was a tiny bit bland. I added a little garlic and used more onion than the recipe called for. I will certainly make it again, and experiment with the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States