Ma Po Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
we liked this, but it did not taste like ma po tofu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I've never had this before and this was my first time making it and I loved it. I worked with what I had on hand. I subbed leftover roast pork, cut up for the ground pork; red wine vinegar and water for the sherry. I didn't have chili paste w/garlic so I used chili powder and minced garlic from a jar. I skipped the cayenne, peas & chicken broth. I sauteed the tofu cubes in olive oil with fresh sliced mushrooms, minced garlic, fresh chopped up ginger and chili powder. Near the end I threw in 2 handfuls of fresh spinach leaves. In the sauce pan I heated up the cut up roast pork, red wine vinegar, water, cornstarch, a bit of chicken broth granules, soy sauce, regular canned black beans with the juice and some chick peas. Then added in the sauteed mix and served. Both my kids wanted some too. I didn't measure anything. This recipe is very forgiving and you can tweak it any way you want. I will definitely make this again. Delicious. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yui
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I substituted the dry sherry, water & chicken broth with sake. I also substituted the cayenne pepper with Thai chili powder and added chopped fresh Thai chili since we like it spicy. I don't have any peas but I added the chopped spring onion instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I am so glad I came across this recipe. It is bursting with flavor and can be customized for virtually every palate. The next time I make this I will add more vegetables, such as mushrooms and green onion. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzisixx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
We just made this for dinner. We made a veggie version and just added some steamed broccoli. We also didn't have any chili paste, so used chili garlic sauce instead. We did broil the tofu, as suggested, and it was good. I personally, found this a little bit salty. If we made this again, we will use less soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi Barth Maline

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
The sauce was basically good although the as written verdon myst be incredibly spicg. I only used half the red pepper and it was at the top of my comfort zone for heat. I addded another 1/2 c of liquid as it wss too thick in the sauce with cornstarch in it in 2 places. I am not terribly fond of tofhu but it is healthy so i am looking for ways to hide it in my food. The sauce I did like with changes above. The tofu still had the soft squishy texture I dont love. Another poster suggested broiling or frying it first. That might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
A previous reviewer was right. While edible this is not true mapo tofu. I'll keep looking for a mapo tofu recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Delicious and so quick and easy to make! I added green onions at the end as well and replaced the sherry with xiao shing rice wine since that was all I had. Seemed to work great. Great recipe!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
good recipe! Easy to vary by what you have on hand, simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Yummy! And only the 2nd time I've been able to make tofu turn out good. My changes- I used 1/2 lb ground pork and black bean garlic sauce since I couldn't find paste. I've found that tofu is much tastier if you make a good effort to squeeze out the water- I place the tofu on a plate with a plate on top of it and something sort of heavy on top of that plate and let it squeeze the water out for 30 minutes. Then it sucks up the flavor of the sauce well. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States