Ma Ma's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
The best I have ever had! I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Graves

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leakesville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Petal, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This recipe was easy to follow and the cookies were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I had no shortening so used 1/2 cup butter. Bad idea. These were very bland. Reminded me of baby's rice cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
These cookies were great! Even my boyfriend, who only likes (err, or should I say liked) store bought sugar cookies loved these. I didn't have any butter flavored shortening so I used regular shortening and added about 2 tablespoons of butter =P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessicca

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by busymommy
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I have long been daunted by cut-out cookie making. Early in my motherhood I tried them and I was awful!! I have been scared to try since. Today I made these and they are beautiful!! I halved the recipe in case I screwed them up I wouldn't have wasted to much. I worked slowly at first and added more flour to my ball of dough as it got too sticky to roll out. Once I pressed them out with the cookie cutters I transfered them from the counter to the pan with a spatula so they wouldn't tear in my hand. I cooked about 7 minutes and let them continue cooking on the hot pan once they were taken out as another reviewer suggested. I used regular crisco (because that's waht I had) and they tasted just fine. I am so grateful for this easy and wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
These were absolutely delish. I, along with my family, loved these. They didn't even last a day here. I kept them in the refrigerator, they tasted better cold to me. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pace, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This is an excellent recipe! My three-year-old son helped and loved every second of it! We followed the instructions exactly as written, except instead of rolling the dough out, I took out portions and let him help roll them into balls on sugar-coated parchment. After we put them on the cookie sheets, he helped me press them with a sugar-coated glass bottom. We decorated them for our family's July 4th celebration with Sugar Cookie Frosting colored red and blue. They were soft and perfectly crispy around the edges. Thanks!! We'll be using this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johawke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I think i would give this recipe more like 3 1/2 stars. I used butter instead of shortening, because I am a skeptic and thought butter would taste better. Maybe that's where I went wrong. Anyways, it doesn't say to chill the dough before cutting into shapes, but mine was way too sticky and soft. I chilled for a few hours, but it was still sticky and soft. I ended up making drop cookies, which were good, but they tasted kind of like the Simple White Cake recipe that is also on this website. I love that recipe, but these cookies just weren't what i was looking for. I might try again with Shortening, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niantic, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This recipe was wonderful! I did make a couple of changes.. I used 1/2 white sugar & 1/2 cup of BROWN sugar, for a little taste kick.. & I added 1 extra tsp vanilla. The cookies turned out great! I rolled them in white sugar & colored sugar crystals for decoration. One thing, tho - I cooked the 1st batch for 8 minutes, & they were JUST undercooked. The 2nd batch cooked 9 minutes and turned out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I can't imagine how large a cookie the original poster was making because I've made a dozen tablespoon sized balls of dough and still have tons of dough left! I tried one and it's fantastic. I used a fancy glass bottom and the pattern stays slightly in after baking. I also had to use regular flour with one teaspoon each of baking soda and baking powder and it turned out great. My tip is: bake them for only 7 minutes and let them finish baking on the hot pan when you pull them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States