Ma Lipo's Apricot-Glazed Turkey with Roasted Onion and Shallot Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
To save time, I used a Butterball turkey, didn't do the gravy recipe, BUT...the Apricot Glaze is sensational! The glaze flavoured the gravy with a subtle sweetness..it was an enormous hit..everyone knew there was something a little different about this turkey and gravy..didn't know just what, but every single guest commented favourably. I doubt I will ever again cook a turkey ..or a chicken for that matter..without this glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This recipe was delectable! My whole family loved it so much that they ask me to make this all throughout the year. I used it with FoodTV's brine recipe from Alton brown (I brined it first then followed this recipe). I froze half the turkey and pulled it out 3 months later and it was just as moist and flavorful as the day I cooked it. I highly recommend it! It's just the perfect blend of spices with a little sweet to satisy all your taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I made this turkey last year and we loved it so much that I'm doing it again this year. It was my first time cooking a turkey and this was the perfect recipe. For better results I cooked the turkey upside down which turn out juicy, and this glaze gave it a fantastic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I've made this turkey for Thanksgiving for the last 5 years. Its the most flavorful turkey I have ever had. The gravy it makes is fantastic. There is just something that commpliments the apricot and the herb butter just perfectly. Soak your bird in salt water for a few hours and do the butter rub the night before. Try to use fresh everything, sage, ginger, thyme, etc. It really is a fantastic recipe for entertaining. It gives your dinner a touch of "gourmet".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAVYWIFE34

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I registered with Allrecipes just to review this recipe. I have made it at least five times now and each time it has turned out absolutely fabulous. I've used large and smaller turkeys and each have been so moist and flavorful - even the breast meat was juicy and not at all dry. The gravy is superb. All our guests have loved it and said it is the best they have ever had, and the presentation is just beautiful. Thanks for sharing this Christine! It's definitely a family tradition now that my kids look forward to. Wouldn't change a thing because it's perfection. Also, the recommended sides go very nicely as well, though we try all sorts each holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
It's Thanksgiving Day & while checking recipe details,I was shocked to see only 9 reviews!!! I realized it's people like me to blame. I used to try a new recipe every year - but experimenting is over. We've used it for 3 years and my huge family loves it. I was tempted to try something new, but when mentioned - the husband raced to the store to buy the apricot nectar to insure its place at the table. Actually, I'm please they like something so much. (The husband's mom in Utah called a couple of weeks ago for the recipe. Thanks Ma Lipo!! Long Live Apricot Glazed Turkey!! :) So says Meemaw in Garland, TX.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
The gravy is outstanding while the turkey is awesome. I was told by multiple people that this was the best turkey they EVER had. Guess that means i got to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Pecoraro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This was my first year making Thanksgiving dinner, and I had nothing but compliments with this Turkey. It came out beautiful. I did not use all of the glaze, I would say I used about 3/4. Very moist! Flavour is excellent, and the gravy turned out better than I ever expected. I'm definitely going to be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I used a can of apricots and blended them up since I could not find the nectar. It turned out wonderfully. THe ginger has a really delicious kick to it. I used this sauce over pork tenderloin. I basted in on the pork during the last 15 minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Excellent recipe and gorgeous as well! This turkey was incredibly moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sidney, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

A moist, flavorful roast turkey rubbed with olive oil, garlic, and fresh herbs.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States