Ma Lipo's Apricot-Glazed Turkey with Roasted Onion and Shallot Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This recipe was delectable! My whole family loved it so much that they ask me to make this all throughout the year. I used it with FoodTV's brine recipe from Alton brown (I brined it first then followed this recipe). I froze half the turkey and pulled it out 3 months later and it was just as moist and flavorful as the day I cooked it. I highly recommend it! It's just the perfect blend of spices with a little sweet to satisy all your taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
To save time, I used a Butterball turkey, didn't do the gravy recipe, BUT...the Apricot Glaze is sensational! The glaze flavoured the gravy with a subtle sweetness..it was an enormous hit..everyone knew there was something a little different about this turkey and gravy..didn't know just what, but every single guest commented favourably. I doubt I will ever again cook a turkey ..or a chicken for that matter..without this glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I made this turkey last year and we loved it so much that I'm doing it again this year. It was my first time cooking a turkey and this was the perfect recipe. For better results I cooked the turkey upside down which turn out juicy, and this glaze gave it a fantastic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Made this last year for Christmas and received rave reviews even from my eldest stepdaughter who hates trying anything new. Am making again this Christmas because it was such a hit last year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This was my first year making Thanksgiving dinner, and I had nothing but compliments with this Turkey. It came out beautiful. I did not use all of the glaze, I would say I used about 3/4. Very moist! Flavour is excellent, and the gravy turned out better than I ever expected. I'm definitely going to be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving and it turned out really good. The gravy was so easy to make and it was the best part of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
The gravy is outstanding while the turkey is awesome. I was told by multiple people that this was the best turkey they EVER had. Guess that means i got to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Pecoraro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I made this 2 years in a row for Thanksgiving with a big group of friends. Everyone loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I've made this turkey for Thanksgiving for the last 5 years. Its the most flavorful turkey I have ever had. The gravy it makes is fantastic. There is just something that commpliments the apricot and the herb butter just perfectly. Soak your bird in salt water for a few hours and do the butter rub the night before. Try to use fresh everything, sage, ginger, thyme, etc. It really is a fantastic recipe for entertaining. It gives your dinner a touch of "gourmet".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAVYWIFE34

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
It's Thanksgiving Day & while checking recipe details,I was shocked to see only 9 reviews!!! I realized it's people like me to blame. I used to try a new recipe every year - but experimenting is over. We've used it for 3 years and my huge family loves it. I was tempted to try something new, but when mentioned - the husband raced to the store to buy the apricot nectar to insure its place at the table. Actually, I'm please they like something so much. (The husband's mom in Utah called a couple of weeks ago for the recipe. Thanks Ma Lipo!! Long Live Apricot Glazed Turkey!! :) So says Meemaw in Garland, TX.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

A moist, flavorful roast turkey rubbed with olive oil, garlic, and fresh herbs.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States