Ma Lipo's Apricot-Glazed Turkey with Roasted Onion and Shallot Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I added fresh garlic to the onion mixture and opted to use "herbes de Provence" instead of the spices listed (kept the salt and pepper). I also chose to use a duck (6lbs, thus reducing the recipe) and only cooked for two hours. The duck I bought came with the giblets, so I cooked those and added them to the onion puree/gravy mixture with great results (if you like that sort of thing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
We used this on a chicken roaster instead of a turkey and it turned out amazing. I did not have any fresh sage so I substituted it for fresh basil instead. The next time I make this I think I will start glazing it a little ahead of the instructions as I don't think the chicken picked up the glaze as much as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I registered with Allrecipes just to review this recipe. I have made it at least five times now and each time it has turned out absolutely fabulous. I've used large and smaller turkeys and each have been so moist and flavorful - even the breast meat was juicy and not at all dry. The gravy is superb. All our guests have loved it and said it is the best they have ever had, and the presentation is just beautiful. Thanks for sharing this Christine! It's definitely a family tradition now that my kids look forward to. Wouldn't change a thing because it's perfection. Also, the recommended sides go very nicely as well, though we try all sorts each holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I used a can of apricots and blended them up since I could not find the nectar. It turned out wonderfully. THe ginger has a really delicious kick to it. I used this sauce over pork tenderloin. I basted in on the pork during the last 15 minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Excellent recipe and gorgeous as well! This turkey was incredibly moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sidney, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
It's Thanksgiving Day & while checking recipe details,I was shocked to see only 9 reviews!!! I realized it's people like me to blame. I used to try a new recipe every year - but experimenting is over. We've used it for 3 years and my huge family loves it. I was tempted to try something new, but when mentioned - the husband raced to the store to buy the apricot nectar to insure its place at the table. Actually, I'm please they like something so much. (The husband's mom in Utah called a couple of weeks ago for the recipe. Thanks Ma Lipo!! Long Live Apricot Glazed Turkey!! :) So says Meemaw in Garland, TX.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I've made this turkey for Thanksgiving for the last 5 years. Its the most flavorful turkey I have ever had. The gravy it makes is fantastic. There is just something that commpliments the apricot and the herb butter just perfectly. Soak your bird in salt water for a few hours and do the butter rub the night before. Try to use fresh everything, sage, ginger, thyme, etc. It really is a fantastic recipe for entertaining. It gives your dinner a touch of "gourmet".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAVYWIFE34

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I made this 2 years in a row for Thanksgiving with a big group of friends. Everyone loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
The gravy is outstanding while the turkey is awesome. I was told by multiple people that this was the best turkey they EVER had. Guess that means i got to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Pecoraro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

A moist, flavorful roast turkey rubbed with olive oil, garlic, and fresh herbs.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States