Ma Lipo's Apricot-Glazed Turkey with Roasted Onion and Shallot Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
I hardly ever cook, so when it was my turn to host thanksgiving dinner, I went looking for a recipe and instructions. This recipe sounded wonderful--and it turned out fabulous. The turkey came out a gorgeous glossy dark caramel color. We put it on a white platter and placed curley endive and green leaf lettuce around the edges, then dropped fresh whole cranberries here and there. It looked like a magazine picture, tasted delicious, and everyone was very impressed with me, thank you very much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
i've made this recipe 6 times(including my 1st turkey day. Make sure to whip out your meat thermometer for the 22 lbs bird! The glaze and the gravy are excellent, lthere will be none left! Try using homemade jam as an ingredient for the glaze. I use mexican canned nectar for the glaze as well, cheap and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
Not a Big Hit at my house. I am glad that I tried this before Thanksgiving. Maybe we are just old fashion. I will use the butter rub again, the meat was very moist. The kids and my husband hated the glaze, they thought it was to sweet. The kids wouldn't even try the onion gravy even after they couldn't see the onions. Both my husband and I didn't care for the gravy either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
This is an excellent recipe - especially the onion/shallot gravy. I do not like gravy, usually, but this gravy just makes my mouth water thinking about it!!! I tried this recipe last Thanksgiving, and everyone really liked it. I will definitely use it for this coming Thanksgiving. I just can't get my fill of that gravy!!! :o) UPDATE: I've used this recipe for several years now, and every single time I make it, people REALLY like it! My mom's expecting this again this Thanksgiving! It's become our family tradition for Thanksgiving turkey! :oD ;>~ This and Leeza's Cranberry Sauce Extraordinaire are two of the best recipes on allrecipes.com!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA CAROL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I used the apricot-glaze to go on my Thanksgiving turkey this year. It was perfect. As a main recipe I used the "Perfect Turkey" recipe. The glaze gave a nice contrast to the hearty taste of the wine and the veggie and herb mix used in the other recipe. It was a nice refreshing contrast that everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuttylicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
I made this recipe last year for Thanksgiving. It was my first time making the Thanksgiving turkey for my family and my husband's family. Everyone loved it. I made it with a cornbread stuffing recipe I also found here and it was a great combination. I can't wait to eat it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I had a craving for turkey so I bought a whole bone-in breast. I didn't want it to taste like my normal Thanksgiving turkey, so I tried this recipe. It was wonderful. I have to admit that I left out the sage because I wanted the sweetness of the apricots and onions without any interference. This was a great, different taste for turkey (of which I'm usually not a big fan, I make it normally once a year). I'll definitely use this recipe again. Thanks Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Wonderful, my turkey was fabulous. It was moist, tender and tasty. The only change I would make is too start basting it later as the with the glaze it darkened way too much. The gravy was awesome. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri St

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I first made this in 1991 and we have been using this recipe about once a year since then. Everyone always likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
This was alot of work for not very outstanding results. The onion gravy was delicious, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

A moist, flavorful roast turkey rubbed with olive oil, garlic, and fresh herbs.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States