Lyonnaise Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
Excellent and easy recipe. I did not experience the problems of undercooked potatoes, however, I added the potatoes to COLD water and then brought to boil - they were cooked perfectly. Also I added about 1/2 cup of crumbled goat cheese (layered throughout). I cooked for 25 minutes with the lid on, and then finished it for about 5 minutes with the lid off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
I made this recipe two times. The first time, I followed the directions exactly and the dish came out a little too bland for me. The second time, I boiled the potatoes in beef broth for about 5 minutes. I followed the directions to the rest of the recipe exept I added a little worshestire sauce to the potatoes and onions before I put them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
I agree with the other reviewers: you need to boil them longer (till almost soft) and bake them longer (till almost crispy). Nonetheless, these potatoes were fantastic! How can something with so much butter and olive oil be bad? We absolutely loved them, but will make them rarely (sadly) as they were dripping in butter. Mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
I think the key mistake in the recipe instructions is where it says to boil the potatoes for 2 minutes. After I read of the problems some were having with the baking time and the results being too dry, I tried boiling the potatoes for 20 minutes. This worked out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
I boiled the potatoes until they were almost done and then baked the dish in the oven for 20 minutes and it came out fine. Nothing really unique about this recipe and I wanted something a little different than just a dish of potatoes so I baked in individual oven proof serving dishes and when they were done I sprinkled them with Potato Toppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
I found that the dish needed baking for more like 30 minutes rather than the 10 to 12 suggested. THe potatoes were still hard after that amount of time. Perhaps the initial cooking should be longer that 2 minutes. Otherwise, delicious, although we ended up eating them for dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
Simple and delicious side dish. I baked mine for about 35 minutes to brown the potatoes more. It sounds like a lot of butter, but it made the dish all the yummier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Palma, California, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
overall not a bad recipe will make again with a few small changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
This was very tasty, but did not turn out quite the way I thought it would. The top potatoes were a bit dry and not crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
The potatoes are marvelous. However, you do need to bake in the over much longer than the 12 mins advised. I baked for over a half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States