Lyonnaise Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 31, 2004
I agree with the other reviewers: you need to boil them longer (till almost soft) and bake them longer (till almost crispy). Nonetheless, these potatoes were fantastic! How can something with so much butter and olive oil be bad? We absolutely loved them, but will make them rarely (sadly) as they were dripping in butter. Mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
I think the key mistake in the recipe instructions is where it says to boil the potatoes for 2 minutes. After I read of the problems some were having with the baking time and the results being too dry, I tried boiling the potatoes for 20 minutes. This worked out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
I boiled the potatoes until they were almost done and then baked the dish in the oven for 20 minutes and it came out fine. Nothing really unique about this recipe and I wanted something a little different than just a dish of potatoes so I baked in individual oven proof serving dishes and when they were done I sprinkled them with Potato Toppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
I found that the dish needed baking for more like 30 minutes rather than the 10 to 12 suggested. THe potatoes were still hard after that amount of time. Perhaps the initial cooking should be longer that 2 minutes. Otherwise, delicious, although we ended up eating them for dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
Simple and delicious side dish. I baked mine for about 35 minutes to brown the potatoes more. It sounds like a lot of butter, but it made the dish all the yummier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Palma, California, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
overall not a bad recipe will make again with a few small changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
This was very tasty, but did not turn out quite the way I thought it would. The top potatoes were a bit dry and not crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
The potatoes are marvelous. However, you do need to bake in the over much longer than the 12 mins advised. I baked for over a half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
I suggest everyone try these! They are terrific! Thanks for sharing with all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2001
These potatoes were really good. My only problem was that they wouldn't brown until I put them under the broiler for a few minutes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States