Lyonnaise Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Very good, not heavy. I add shallots when I have them & saute them w/garlic. I also add just a spalsh of chicken broth for flavor. This was a big hit & the house smelled heavenly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
For a long time I have been searching for my lost recipe for Lyonnaise Potatoes. After trying this, I will keep searching. Although it was merely good, it not my old favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This came out awesome. I didn't use onions, but put in a little onion powder and it was good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This was very good, I also left the dish in the oven in order to get the potatoes nice and crispy. Next time I will take the advice of another reviewer and add some feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Simple and basic equals good. Very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
This recipe was terrific. However, I left it in the oven longer than suggested. I like potatoes done crisper and the oven prepared them to my expectations. Everyone Loved Them! Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
These were only so-so for me, probably won't make again. They were too greasy for my taste, and I would rather just have scalloped potatoes. The onions were good, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
VERY tasty! A bit time consuming, but not difficult at all. I didn't have any problems with the dish being underdone. I did boil my sliced potatoes for more than 2 minutes, but nowhere near the 20 suggested by some, 5 minutes was plenty. Don't be scared by the quantity of 4 onions (I thought it sounded like WAY too much on reading the recipe), when properly caramelized they cook down to a much smaller volume.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
Excellent and easy recipe. I did not experience the problems of undercooked potatoes, however, I added the potatoes to COLD water and then brought to boil - they were cooked perfectly. Also I added about 1/2 cup of crumbled goat cheese (layered throughout). I cooked for 25 minutes with the lid on, and then finished it for about 5 minutes with the lid off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
I made this recipe two times. The first time, I followed the directions exactly and the dish came out a little too bland for me. The second time, I boiled the potatoes in beef broth for about 5 minutes. I followed the directions to the rest of the recipe exept I added a little worshestire sauce to the potatoes and onions before I put them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States