Lyonnaise Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This is a good basic recipe. Next time though I will follow the advice of some others to spice it up a little and maybe even add a little cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFETTE50

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hernando, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
my mom makes these often. they are my favorite potatoes. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Very good side dish. I had these at a fancy steakhouse and my husband has asked for them since. I did omit alot of prep steps to save time. I added all the ingredients to a 13x9 casserole dish, covered with foil and baked for 1 hour at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly except I used just a couple of Tbsp of olive oil instead of butter when layering the potatoes and onions; I also used an extra clove of garlic. The end result was pretty boring. I think if this dish was cooked on the stove top, it would allow the potatoes on the bottom to get crispy and the dish would be a lot more tasty as a result. Also, next time I will use the butter as I think it's integral for flavour, but it's not likely that I will use 1/2 cup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Very time consuming but worth the trouble. Nothing was left for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This was just ok. One tip though would be to bring the potatoes to boil and just let them sit in the water while preparing the onions, that way you won't have to bake longer. I think I'll just stick with scalloped potatoes, its easier (at least for me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Great recipe! Very easy to make and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This dish was great - nice flavourful way to serve potatoes for a change - all the family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
These are a good staple recipe for grilling season. I like to put a little shredded swiss on top and finish them off under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I made this for my elderly French neighbor who grew up in Normandy. She was skeptical of my doing French cooking, but this recipe won her over. Potatoes do need to be baked much longer than recipe calls for, as others have said here also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Scalloped Potatoes

Perfectly creamy scalloped potatoes, just like Mom would make.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Grilled Baked Potatoes

A delicious combination of baked and grilled potatoes in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States