Lyonnaise Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Just can't match up to the Ruth's Chris style lyonnaise potatoes....Will definitely leave white pepper out...totally unncessary. Tried making a few times. I boiled potatoes for 10 minutes, and cooked all ingredients for 30 minutes. Rich and creamy, but it just isn't Ruth's Chris style : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I left the taters in the hot water for a bit(burner off) and between that and frying them a bit in the pan they were done so I skipped the oven. Stirred everything all together and just left them on low in the skillet and tossed now and again while waiting for everything else to be done. Didn't peel because my taters were tiny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I really liked this recipe. I used frozen hashbrowns for this recipe, which made is REALLY easy. I thawed the harshbrowns slowly in the microwave first, while I was sweating the onions. (which took closer to 30 minutes) I also baked it for close to an hour so that the top of the hashbrowns started to get crispy. The carmelized onion gave the side dish really good flavor. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarterCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Need to cook these longer than suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
i followed the recipe directly, but the potatoes were too oily. it was okay, but i won't make it again! my husband agrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ceeleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This is a good basic recipe. Next time though I will follow the advice of some others to spice it up a little and maybe even add a little cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hernando, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
my mom makes these often. they are my favorite potatoes. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Very good side dish. I had these at a fancy steakhouse and my husband has asked for them since. I did omit alot of prep steps to save time. I added all the ingredients to a 13x9 casserole dish, covered with foil and baked for 1 hour at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly except I used just a couple of Tbsp of olive oil instead of butter when layering the potatoes and onions; I also used an extra clove of garlic. The end result was pretty boring. I think if this dish was cooked on the stove top, it would allow the potatoes on the bottom to get crispy and the dish would be a lot more tasty as a result. Also, next time I will use the butter as I think it's integral for flavour, but it's not likely that I will use 1/2 cup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States