Lyonnaise Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
The potatoes are marvelous. However, you do need to bake in the over much longer than the 12 mins advised. I baked for over a half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
I think the key mistake in the recipe instructions is where it says to boil the potatoes for 2 minutes. After I read of the problems some were having with the baking time and the results being too dry, I tried boiling the potatoes for 20 minutes. This worked out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
I suggest everyone try these! They are terrific! Thanks for sharing with all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
Simple and delicious side dish. I baked mine for about 35 minutes to brown the potatoes more. It sounds like a lot of butter, but it made the dish all the yummier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Palma, California, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This came out awesome. I didn't use onions, but put in a little onion powder and it was good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
Excellent and easy recipe. I did not experience the problems of undercooked potatoes, however, I added the potatoes to COLD water and then brought to boil - they were cooked perfectly. Also I added about 1/2 cup of crumbled goat cheese (layered throughout). I cooked for 25 minutes with the lid on, and then finished it for about 5 minutes with the lid off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
This recipe was terrific. However, I left it in the oven longer than suggested. I like potatoes done crisper and the oven prepared them to my expectations. Everyone Loved Them! Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
These were so good! I prepared the recipe ahead of time, and then just popped it in the oven the next day. I got many raves over this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
VERY tasty! A bit time consuming, but not difficult at all. I didn't have any problems with the dish being underdone. I did boil my sliced potatoes for more than 2 minutes, but nowhere near the 20 suggested by some, 5 minutes was plenty. Don't be scared by the quantity of 4 onions (I thought it sounded like WAY too much on reading the recipe), when properly caramelized they cook down to a much smaller volume.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Simple and basic equals good. Very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States