Lyonnaise Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2004
I think the key mistake in the recipe instructions is where it says to boil the potatoes for 2 minutes. After I read of the problems some were having with the baking time and the results being too dry, I tried boiling the potatoes for 20 minutes. This worked out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
I made this recipe two times. The first time, I followed the directions exactly and the dish came out a little too bland for me. The second time, I boiled the potatoes in beef broth for about 5 minutes. I followed the directions to the rest of the recipe exept I added a little worshestire sauce to the potatoes and onions before I put them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
VERY tasty! A bit time consuming, but not difficult at all. I didn't have any problems with the dish being underdone. I did boil my sliced potatoes for more than 2 minutes, but nowhere near the 20 suggested by some, 5 minutes was plenty. Don't be scared by the quantity of 4 onions (I thought it sounded like WAY too much on reading the recipe), when properly caramelized they cook down to a much smaller volume.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
The potatoes are marvelous. However, you do need to bake in the over much longer than the 12 mins advised. I baked for over a half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
These were so good! I prepared the recipe ahead of time, and then just popped it in the oven the next day. I got many raves over this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Very good, not heavy. I add shallots when I have them & saute them w/garlic. I also add just a spalsh of chicken broth for flavor. This was a big hit & the house smelled heavenly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
Excellent and easy recipe. I did not experience the problems of undercooked potatoes, however, I added the potatoes to COLD water and then brought to boil - they were cooked perfectly. Also I added about 1/2 cup of crumbled goat cheese (layered throughout). I cooked for 25 minutes with the lid on, and then finished it for about 5 minutes with the lid off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
The first time it didn't turn out the way i wanted but i changed it up and found the flavori I wanted. I only used 2 onions and 1tbls of garlic and i broiled the potatoes to get the top golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
Simple and delicious side dish. I baked mine for about 35 minutes to brown the potatoes more. It sounds like a lot of butter, but it made the dish all the yummier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Palma, California, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This is good. I make mine the same way, except I don't boil the potaotes beforehand. I chop the potatoes instead of slicing and I add beef broth to the pan, cover the pan and let it simmer for about 10 minutes. They turn out great everytime. Its good with shallots too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States