Lyndsie's Dr. Pepper® Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
My family loved this recipe and fought over the leftovers. I altered the recipe to use hamburger (which is what I had on hand) and used a whole 28 oz can of tomatoes. I served it over basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I made these for my Dr. Pepper drinking son's birthday dinner and he loved them. My husband liked them, but I didn't at all. I thought they were too salty and too sweet. Our individual ratings were: 5 - 4 - 1 = 3.33.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
My family loved it! I used hamburger, couldn't find any turkey, it was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
My family and I absolutely loved this! I used ground beef instead of turkey and Italian breadcrumbs. I didn't have any green pepper or onion or ranch, so they didn't get tossed in! But I did have garlic and I minced it and tossed it in some Extra Virgin Olive Oil in the bottom of my Crock-Pot while I was preparing the other ingredients. After making the meat balls I put brown sugar and ketchup in the pot and mixed it well then added one can of Dr. Pepper and my meatballs, they weren't covered so I added another can! A dash or two of Worcestershire sauce and about 5 hours later...YUM!!!! Thanks for this awesome recipe!! It is a favorite of my family (and my neighbors!) now!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AutumnB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I used fresh bread crumbs in the meatballs and homemade ranch dressing mix. I did not add the extra salt in the sauce. I'm sure this could be a good recipe with some doctoring--as is, we didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I really liked these a lot. I expected the sauce to taste more like a bbq sauce but it was closer to a porcupine ball sauce. I served them over onion rice and corn with a kick, both from this site. If I were to make them again I would double the sauce and add cornstarch to make it more like a gravy. The meatballs are a little soft so serving them over rice gives the meal more of a contrast in texture rather than over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
They were a good healthy alternative to regular meatballs but it was missing something and the meatballs turned out a little dry inside because of the low fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is good; very reminescent of Coca-Cola Chicken which is a favorite in this house. Followed the recipe exactly and thought the Ranch Dressing would change the flavor, but I did not detect it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
The meatballs in this recipe were good, but the sauce was not. We did not like the flavor. The combination of the Dr. Pepper and tomato created a cinnamon taste that was unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
These were delicious! The only thing I changed was I didn't add the green pepper, my family doesn't like them. This was delicious over mashed potatoes. This is going down as a family favoriate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Friendly Meatballs

Make these oven-baked meatballs with turkey or ground beef.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States