Luscious Turkey Bacon Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
It was delicious and went very well w the salmon I made from here. Both I and my friend enjoyed the flavor immensely and its low fat....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This is one awesome recipe! There are only a couple of things I changed here; first, I cooked the bacon and onions in a little bit of olive oil with a pinch of sugar, and put in about triple the garlic. Also, I didn't add the cilantro at the end, because it tasted perfect without it. And it only took me about an hour from start to finish. This is a recipe I'll be making often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I needed to use up some bacon I had around so I used regular bacon instead of turkey bacon, but the recipe was DELICIOUS! The flavors in the beans were great. I made it as a side dish for enchiladas and spanish rice and it was a perfect complement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This is great. I stirred the bacon in before serving so it was still crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly, except I forgot to buy fresh cilantro so I added a few tablespoons of dried instead. I really liked this recipe the bacon gave it some great flavor (but in the future I'll follow the advise of a another user and add the bacon last so its crispy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
These beans were fabulous! Made it for a dinner party and everyone raved. Will keep this one as a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Wonderful taste! I rinsed the beans first and omitted the salt. Even with doing this I found it tasted fine. I also added a bit of cumin. I will make this many, many more times I am sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Loved it. I used turkey sausage instead of the bacon and used less celantro. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
The only thing I changed was to use real bacon as opposed to turkey bacon. The recipe was delicious and recived compliments from everyone at the dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
These beans were good - but..... I was skeptical about the bacon in refried beans. I should have followed my instincts. Maybe I shouldn't have followed a few reviewers advice and added in the cooked bacon at the end of cooking.It added a very strange texture that did not go well with refried beans. I tasted it before I put the bacon in and loved it - would have given it 5+ stars. It was similar to the beans you can get in many authentic mexican restaraunts. It also took considerably longer to cook than stated. Once adding in the chicken stock it took a little over 2 hours. So that was 3 hours total for a side dish. However, the time issues didn't bother me as much as adding in the bacon ruined the dish. Perhaps putting the bacon in at the beginning of the cooking process would have changed the end result. But bacon in this dish is not needed. The cilantro is a must. I have made this dish several more times with out the bacon - 5 stars for sure. I always double the recipe and use the leftovers later in other dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States