Luscious Turkey Bacon Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I used organic black beans and organic chicken broth in this recipe. I didn't need to wait an hour for my onions to caramelize, mine were good to go in about 20 minutes. I always drain and rinse my beans--because I do this, I knew to add just a little more chicken broth. This is one of the BEST refried beans we've ever had. After tasting it, I regretted right away not making double. Luscious is right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This is one awesome recipe! There are only a couple of things I changed here; first, I cooked the bacon and onions in a little bit of olive oil with a pinch of sugar, and put in about triple the garlic. Also, I didn't add the cilantro at the end, because it tasted perfect without it. And it only took me about an hour from start to finish. This is a recipe I'll be making often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I needed to use up some bacon I had around so I used regular bacon instead of turkey bacon, but the recipe was DELICIOUS! The flavors in the beans were great. I made it as a side dish for enchiladas and spanish rice and it was a perfect complement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
It was delicious and went very well w the salmon I made from here. Both I and my friend enjoyed the flavor immensely and its low fat....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I used regular bacon, just because hubby likes it better. After trying this, I don't think I'll ever buy canned refried beans again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
These beans were good - but..... I was skeptical about the bacon in refried beans. I should have followed my instincts. Maybe I shouldn't have followed a few reviewers advice and added in the cooked bacon at the end of cooking.It added a very strange texture that did not go well with refried beans. I tasted it before I put the bacon in and loved it - would have given it 5+ stars. It was similar to the beans you can get in many authentic mexican restaraunts. It also took considerably longer to cook than stated. Once adding in the chicken stock it took a little over 2 hours. So that was 3 hours total for a side dish. However, the time issues didn't bother me as much as adding in the bacon ruined the dish. Perhaps putting the bacon in at the beginning of the cooking process would have changed the end result. But bacon in this dish is not needed. The cilantro is a must. I have made this dish several more times with out the bacon - 5 stars for sure. I always double the recipe and use the leftovers later in other dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Wonderful taste! I rinsed the beans first and omitted the salt. Even with doing this I found it tasted fine. I also added a bit of cumin. I will make this many, many more times I am sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly, except I forgot to buy fresh cilantro so I added a few tablespoons of dried instead. I really liked this recipe the bacon gave it some great flavor (but in the future I'll follow the advise of a another user and add the bacon last so its crispy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Whoa! Salt overload alert! I used about half the salt called for and it was decidedly too salty (as opposed to a little too salty). Easy enough to cut back on but be forewarned! Even if using regular bacon was partially responsible, I doubt a full teaspoon of salt would be necessary! Other than that this was very good! When I asked Hubs (you’d think he’d get this by now) for a more elaborate and helpful response than “it’s good!” he remarked that these beans were second only to our favorite Mexican place in Naples (owned and operated by a man from Mexico!). Ok, now he’s telling me how much he liked these beans in a clear and understandable way! I did make some changes in deference to Hubs’ sensitive innards and taste preferences. I subbed minced green pepper for the jalapeno (thank you, thank you very much, he said) and eliminated the cilantro (more thanks). I would have liked the additions of both, but I don’t see how either could have made me enjoy these more. I made what is becoming the recurrent mistake of not carefully reading the recipe before I proceeded and found these required a 2-hour cooking time. I didn’t have that kind of time when I started supper so I cooked them with a significantly shorter cooking time. I can’t imagine how much better they’d have been had I cooked them longer but who knows, maybe they would have been! Whether or not you include the cilantro or jalapeno these beans will please your palate – just be very careful with the salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
The only thing I changed was to use real bacon as opposed to turkey bacon. The recipe was delicious and recived compliments from everyone at the dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States