Luscious Turkey Bacon Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Whoa! Salt overload alert! I used about half the salt called for and it was decidedly too salty (as opposed to a little too salty). Easy enough to cut back on but be forewarned! Even if using regular bacon was partially responsible, I doubt a full teaspoon of salt would be necessary! Other than that this was very good! When I asked Hubs (you’d think he’d get this by now) for a more elaborate and helpful response than “it’s good!” he remarked that these beans were second only to our favorite Mexican place in Naples (owned and operated by a man from Mexico!). Ok, now he’s telling me how much he liked these beans in a clear and understandable way! I did make some changes in deference to Hubs’ sensitive innards and taste preferences. I subbed minced green pepper for the jalapeno (thank you, thank you very much, he said) and eliminated the cilantro (more thanks). I would have liked the additions of both, but I don’t see how either could have made me enjoy these more. I made what is becoming the recurrent mistake of not carefully reading the recipe before I proceeded and found these required a 2-hour cooking time. I didn’t have that kind of time when I started supper so I cooked them with a significantly shorter cooking time. I can’t imagine how much better they’d have been had I cooked them longer but who knows, maybe they would have been! Whether or not you include the cilantro or jalapeno these beans will please your palate – just be very careful with the salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Excellent. Next time making this, cut back a little on the chicken stock if wanting firm refried beans for burritos as more can be added if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
From the rave reviews, I somehow thought the turkey bacon was going to be okay in this. It tasted like I had added chunks of bologne to my beans. Yuck. I'll be looking for a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
since first making this recipe the first time, i have made it a hundred more. it's my absolute go-to for refried beans and i always double the recipe because it's also great for leftovers. better than any can i ever opened. my son and husband stand over the pot and eat it with spoons. it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
WONDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I used organic black beans and organic chicken broth in this recipe. I didn't need to wait an hour for my onions to caramelize, mine were good to go in about 20 minutes. I always drain and rinse my beans--because I do this, I knew to add just a little more chicken broth. This is one of the BEST refried beans we've ever had. After tasting it, I regretted right away not making double. Luscious is right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
These refried beans were just like you get in a Mexican restaurant. They had a great depth of flavor and tasted rich and slow cooked. I used regular bacon because that is what I had in the house - it gave the beans a nice smokey flavor. I left out the salt since I used regular bacon and it was fine. I left the other ingredients the same, but, used (2) cans of black beans and ended up using close to 2 cups low sodium chicken stock. I would definitely make again, but, not on a week night. It was worth the wait, but, took a long time to get to the pefect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Used smoked bacon that our neighbor makes. Had to cook longer than stated to reduce fluid, next time I will add less chicken broth. Instead of using potato masher, I put the whole mixture in food processor. Flavor and texture excellant. Agree, may never buy canned beans again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
THESE WERE DELICOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This recipe was amazing! The two of us finished the whole batch in ten minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States