Luscious Slush Punch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Having NEVER made punch before, I landed on this recipe because the instructional video was very helpful, and I loved the color. Made it, and froze it a couple of weeks ago; just served it last night for an evening pre-event reception (only 45 minutes) at our daughter's school. Only used HALF the sugar (1 1/4 cup), and froze it in 4 one gallon bags (instead of 2 separate containers) - (our punch bowl was on the smaller side). So with four "slushy punch ice starter blocks" and 2, two liter bottles of 7 UP, we made it in two punch bowls - so we could serve glasses from the kitchen bowl onto trays for our volunteer students to pass around - we ended up adding 22 extra CANS of SPRITE (only because it was available at the school during the reception) over the constantly melting blocks over the 45 minutes and it made plenty for about 100 or more 1/2 cup servings (we truly lost count). We called it SLUSHY FALL PUNCH, and people could not get enough of it!! It matched our fall themed decorations beautifully - the red ice block turns a slightly orangish grapefruit color when the lemon lime soda is poured over it and it starts melting. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS RECIPE! What a blessing! LAST TIP: take out and pour one of the soda bottles on at least one ice block 25 minutes before you need to serve it. Microwave the blocks if they are still too frozen and you need them to be a bit more quickly melted as the crowd keeps clamoring for more of the delicious punch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I just made this wonderful punch for a function this past weekend and was delighted with the results. As other reviewers suggested, I reduced the sugar to 1.5 cups, used Ziplock bags, froze it in a thin layer, froze it for one night only, and used part Club Soda and part Lemon-Lime soda. It was an enormous success and many guests lined up for seconds, thirds and fourths! NO it's not "health food" (duh?!) but it IS a delicious and wonderful treat. THANK YOU VALERIE for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I made this for a bridal shower and it got rave reviews, so much that I was asked to make it for the reception as well. The only problem I had was that it definitely didn't thaw in the time frame given! The second time I made it I froze it in smaller containers (about 3 cups each), let it thaw in the fridge overnight and then threw it in my food processor and it came out perfect! Based on other reviews I also halved the sugar both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by historygal22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I replaced 4 cups of water with everclear for an adult birthday party and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodstock

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This punch is AMAZING! I am known for this punch and have made it for baby showers, bridal showers, BBQs, birthday parties, work potlucks, and even a wedding (with 140 guests). I am always asked for the recipe. It does take some prepping with freezing the jello oj/pineapple mix but it lasts in your freezer leaving you with an incredibly tasty and refreshing punch the day of the party. I use ziploc gallon bags to store in the freezer and when it is time to serve the punch, I simply drop in the frozen goodness and pour in my bottles of soda. A potato masher is really helpful when breaking up the frozen block. I have yet to meet someone who didn't LOVE this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I took the advice of other reviewers and cut the sugar in half, which is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. I think it would have been too sweet with the entire amount of sugar. I used lime Jell-o and diet ginger ale. I served it at my son's 5th birthday party. It all got consumed, and people were asking for more. Definitely a keeper with the reduction in sugar, unless you like your punch really sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Loved it! I made it for Father's Day and my husband was fixated on it the second he tasted it. He wants me to give it a 6 star rating. I used 1and a half cups of sugar and agree with other reviewers that it would be perfect with 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This is a great tasting simple punch that makes alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SimplyCortney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Not the biggest hit. Made a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I have made this twice now, the first time with 1/2 half the recommended sugar and the second time with no sugar added. Everyone happily drank it with no added sugar. There is so many sweet ingredients in it the extra sugar just isn't needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 971) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Luscious Slush Punch

See how to make a refreshing alcohol-free punch.

Fruit Punch

A refreshing, delicious fruit punch with ginger ale and orange sherbet.

Black Halloween Punch

Cast a deliciously dark pall over your Halloween punch bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States