Luscious Raspberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Katie
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Good basic recipe! I used raspberry jelly instead of syrup and I added 1 tablespoon raspberry extract and 1 cup of white chocolate chunks to the recipe and baked the scones about 20 minutes the first time prior to cutting them. Drizzled them with white choc and they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
They were blue, tasty but blue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
These are great! Like some others, I added a bit more buttermilk and heavy cream; and instead of the syrup used raspberry preserves. Also, because I had some extra left over from making orange scones, I drizzled them with an orange glaze. They didn't last ten minutes! I'll definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Great recipe! I made a few changes. I use half whole wheat flour and half all purpose, jam instead of raspberry syrup, use 2/3 cup of buttermilk, no cream and I tripled the amount of baking soda as mine were really dense the first time. All in all this is a great basic recipe that you can add to and make into your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Revelstoke, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
The batter for these was extremely sticky. I had to add a bit more cream (about a tablespoon) to try to make it easier to work with. Otherwise, I made the recipe as directed. They turned out very tasty and tender. I think a little icing glaze would be great on these next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This is a great recipe. I use half wheat flour and strawberry jam instead of syrup. My boyfriend really loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
These were so good they didn't last even 2 hours in my house! I used raspberry jam instead of syrup and added a bit more cream. I put one layer of dough down, then put frozen raspberries and blueberries on it, then put another layer on top and pinched the sides together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
these were amazing with my changes... used 1 c whole wheat flour and 1 c quick oats. used raspberry applesauce in place of butter and raspberry jam in place of syrup. a little dry so i added some more cream but then they came out amazingly moist and soft and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOVIELOVER19
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
They're very messy to seperate when you take them out of the oven for the first time, but otherwise very easy to make, even with frozen raspberries. It will seem like they are not done at all when you take them out. They taste wonderful though, and they look beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVIELOVER19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
The flavor of these scones were allright, but the texture was a little odd. The raspberries completely lost their texture and fell apart into little itty-bitty pieces. They didn't hold their shape when cut into the traditional scone shape. I am going to feel playing with the recipe because the flavor was somewhat tantalizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States