Luscious Raspberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Very good as is. After reading other reviews, I used seedless raspberry jam instead of raspberry syrup as I could not find raspberry syrup. I served the scones with some more jam along side. I think I would like to add almond extract to the dough (1/4 teaspoon to start). I also wonder when they come out of the oven the second time sprinkle some mini chocolate chips on top so they can melt on top of the scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Katie
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Good basic recipe! I used raspberry jelly instead of syrup and I added 1 tablespoon raspberry extract and 1 cup of white chocolate chunks to the recipe and baked the scones about 20 minutes the first time prior to cutting them. Drizzled them with white choc and they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
They were blue, tasty but blue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
These are great! Like some others, I added a bit more buttermilk and heavy cream; and instead of the syrup used raspberry preserves. Also, because I had some extra left over from making orange scones, I drizzled them with an orange glaze. They didn't last ten minutes! I'll definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Great recipe! I made a few changes. I use half whole wheat flour and half all purpose, jam instead of raspberry syrup, use 2/3 cup of buttermilk, no cream and I tripled the amount of baking soda as mine were really dense the first time. All in all this is a great basic recipe that you can add to and make into your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Revelstoke, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
The batter for these was extremely sticky. I had to add a bit more cream (about a tablespoon) to try to make it easier to work with. Otherwise, I made the recipe as directed. They turned out very tasty and tender. I think a little icing glaze would be great on these next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This is a great recipe. I use half wheat flour and strawberry jam instead of syrup. My boyfriend really loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
These were so good they didn't last even 2 hours in my house! I used raspberry jam instead of syrup and added a bit more cream. I put one layer of dough down, then put frozen raspberries and blueberries on it, then put another layer on top and pinched the sides together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
these were amazing with my changes... used 1 c whole wheat flour and 1 c quick oats. used raspberry applesauce in place of butter and raspberry jam in place of syrup. a little dry so i added some more cream but then they came out amazingly moist and soft and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOVIELOVER19
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
They're very messy to seperate when you take them out of the oven for the first time, but otherwise very easy to make, even with frozen raspberries. It will seem like they are not done at all when you take them out. They taste wonderful though, and they look beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVIELOVER19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States