Luscious Lima Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
VERY good! i feasted on this recipe and its leftovers for a week! I Never tired of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I made this because I had bought a bag of dried lima beans at a grocery outlet store for 25 cents, and I had all the other ingredients on hand. Like other reviewers, I wasn't expecting something great. I only wanted a recipe to use the beans. What a surprise! It was unexpectedly rich and creamy (I pureed 3 cups of the soup to thicken it up), and so flavorful. I followed there recipe exactly and only added a teaspoon of salt and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper. We had this soup, a wedge salad and bread and it was a great supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was the first soup I tried after deciding to go vegetarian. It is amazing! Thank you for such an easy and great-tasting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
It reminded me of Chicken Noodle Soup (I added chicken for my kids benefit) with Lima Beans instead of Noodles. It was a little bland and needed more flavor. Salt, Sour Cream, and Cheddar Cheese made this more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
wonderful recipe...we love it..Freezes well, too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This soup turned out great! I had to cook the beans a bit longer than stated and I used some cornstarch to thicken the broth because I used regular vegetable broth instead of bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
AWESOME! I made a little bacon and used the bacon grease to cook up the veggies. I also added a can of chopped tomatoes towards the end. YUM-0! I'll be making this one again for sure. We are a SOUP family and this ones a keeper. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I was so wrapped up scarfing it down that I forgot to take a picture, as I normally would. Yum! My boyfriend liked it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
We made it with onion in place of the shallots, and used canned vegetable broth rather than bouillon. It was fantastic, and fairly easy! We did have to add quite a bit of salt though for it to taste right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I initially made this because it is a very economical recipe, and I had limited funds for food that week. I love lima beans, but carrots and celery are by no means my favorite veggies, and in combination with the simplicity of the soup, I wasn't expecting much. I was completely caught off guard by how good this soup is! Everything mingles together so well, and it is very flexible as far as quantities. Already looking forward to making another big pot of this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States