Luscious Lima Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I didn't include the leek, shallots, or celery. Instead I used one white onion and a sixteen ounce can of diced tomatoes (drained). It's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I am giving this recipe 5 stars, HOWEVER, I DID MAKE CHANGES. I didn't use leek or shallots because I only used what I had on hand. I used 1 large onion and 2 cloves of garlic, minced. I added a can of petite diced tomatoes, used chicken stock instead of bouillon, then added fresh thyme (2 tsp) and fresh chopped spinach (3/4 cup) last 15 minutes of cook time. Seasoned with fresh ground pepper and a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
It's a no brainer that I will be making this again.My family,even picky children loved it.I thought there would be lots left over to eat for a few days,but it disappeared in less than a day.I did throw in a ham bone and some ham bits I had leftover in the freezer.Otherwise followed recipe to the letter.Fantastic,thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Great recipe! I added ham and cooked the soup in a slow cooker on low for 7 hours. Few pulses with an emulsion blender makes for a nice consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Easy to make and a hearty soup. In the final cooking I added 2 cups of chicken broth and 2 cups of water. Also sauted some spinach with the veggies. Great flavor. Let everyone add there own salt. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
What I really liked about this recipe is that if you sub onion for leek and shallot, you can make it from basic staples from the pantry. It was very flavorful and there are flavor tweaking options in the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Simple and delicious. My daughter, who is not a fan of carrots, inhaled this soup. I too just used 1 cup of chopped onions instead of leek & shallots. I'm not a fan of celery and I can't just buy two stalks, so I omitted completely. Used chicken bouillon because that's what I had. Will make again! Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I had a bag of dried limas just laying around for months. This soup seemed so simple, that I knew it would be good. I didn't have any leeks or shallots, so I used a red onion instead. I added a bay leaf and garlic, too. I soaked the beans overnight, then threw everything together in the slow cooker on high for 5 hours. When it was done, I wilted about 4 cups of fresh spinach into it. So easy and yummy! It made about 10 servings of about 1 1/4 cups each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This turned out just heavenly. I made a few adjustments namely: 2 leek bulbs instead of one, one large clove garlic, heaping teaspoon of Hungarian paprika, saute in coconut oil and added olive oil later (3 tblsp), 2 chicken bouillons and 2 tsp of Vegeta and a few drops of liquid smoke. I used 3 cups of Lima beans and used 8-9 cups water and voila a thick soup made for a king! This is going to be one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I could give this more stars with some changes. Firstly, it took forever to soften the beans, and I did soak them. I used the large dried limas, it was all they had at the store. I later found dried baby limas at another store, and this could have been part of the reason it took forever to soften them. That being said, they are finally softening after leaving the pot of soup on the stove overnight in a keep warm setting. This morning, I'm going to cook a while longer, and then this is what I will do...I'm going to remove a cup or more of the soup to the blender and puree it, add it back into the soup for a thicker and smoother soup. I also added a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes along with the juice from the can. I did not spend for the leek and shallots and used good old yellow cooking onion instead. And I also used a combination of chicken broth (Better Than Bouillon in the jar) and vegetable broth. I know this will end up tasting very good, and I think it definitely benefits from waiting till the next day to serve it. Good, but not five stars. I have a cooking blog under the same name as my username, which features a soup called Kale Soup, Go Green. Check it out for another vegetarian soup that also got raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States