Luscious Lima Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This was really good! I didn't have time to sautee the veggies and just cooked it for about 2 hours. My kids could not WAIT to eat it because the house smelled so good while it was cooking. It is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Very good. I do normally follow a recipe to the T the first time, but had to adjust this one. I do not use bouillon so used four cups veggie stock instead. I also threw it into the crock pot. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I didn't include the leek, shallots, or celery. Instead I used one white onion and a sixteen ounce can of diced tomatoes (drained). It's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I am giving this recipe 5 stars, HOWEVER, I DID MAKE CHANGES. I didn't use leek or shallots because I only used what I had on hand. I used 1 large onion and 2 cloves of garlic, minced. I added a can of petite diced tomatoes, used chicken stock instead of bouillon, then added fresh thyme (2 tsp) and fresh chopped spinach (3/4 cup) last 15 minutes of cook time. Seasoned with fresh ground pepper and a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
It's a no brainer that I will be making this again.My family,even picky children loved it.I thought there would be lots left over to eat for a few days,but it disappeared in less than a day.I did throw in a ham bone and some ham bits I had leftover in the freezer.Otherwise followed recipe to the letter.Fantastic,thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Great recipe! I added ham and cooked the soup in a slow cooker on low for 7 hours. Few pulses with an emulsion blender makes for a nice consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Easy to make and a hearty soup. In the final cooking I added 2 cups of chicken broth and 2 cups of water. Also sauted some spinach with the veggies. Great flavor. Let everyone add there own salt. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
What I really liked about this recipe is that if you sub onion for leek and shallot, you can make it from basic staples from the pantry. It was very flavorful and there are flavor tweaking options in the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Simple and delicious. My daughter, who is not a fan of carrots, inhaled this soup. I too just used 1 cup of chopped onions instead of leek & shallots. I'm not a fan of celery and I can't just buy two stalks, so I omitted completely. Used chicken bouillon because that's what I had. Will make again! Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States