Luscious Lima Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I added a can of crushed tomatoes, but other than that, it was perfect! I don't know why, but to me it smelled really funny when it was cooking. I refused to eat it until my fiance said it was AMAZING and I gave in. This one's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Wow, what a delicious soup and turned out just like the picture. The soup was creamy and tasty, the Lima beans soft like butter. I had never made Lima soup before and so glad and a favorite. Of course my husband loved it too. My favorite was always Pea soup but I think I've been converted. The Lima beans are so light and velvety and the carrots add a touch of sweetness. I cooked with ham hocks so extra delicious and never forget the Bay leaves, but next time I think I'll try the veggie only way. I made a mistake and pureed it a little too much, big mistake since those Lima beans are the stars of the show. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by P.Smith
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I'm a soupaholic, and this is one of my favorites. I followed the recipe other than subbing 1 cup of chopped onion for the leek and shallots. I added a 14.5 oz. can of diced tomatoes, an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce and a tbsp. of minced garlic. This soup is even better the next day. Five stars and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Excellent! I used chicken broth instead of veggie and added a couple of smoked pork neckbones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This is pretty good. The changes I made....I didn't use Leek, couldn't find it at the supermarket. Used chicken boullion, since it was what I had on hand. Also, thru in salt pork. Next time, will try with ham. I cooked for nearly 2 hours and served with cornbread. Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Fulton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Soup was ver good I made some small changes.. I added a bay leaf and some Boyds all in one seasoning about 1/2 a teaspoon... I used an onion because that is what I had, and some chopped celery... It did have to cook about two hours longer than recomended...I thought it was very good. My house mate didn't like the texture said the flavor was ok but not the texture...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnemucca, Nevada, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
good but I had to cook it almost 2 more hours than it said to get the beans soft enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
This recipe is absolutely fabulous. I held off on the carrots. Then stuck the immersion blender in the soup to cream it up then added the carrots till tender.YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
I didn't love it. It was kind of bland. I usually love earthy veggie soups, but this one was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I thought this soup was great! I didn't even saute' the vegetables -- just threw them in the crockpot after the beans had softened -- and it turned out wonderful. This is a tasty, low-calorie vegan soup that I will definitely make again. Note: I didn't have as many carrots as the recipe called for, but I did have a leftover rutabaga that I cut up and threw in. It was a terrific addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pillowtrot

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States