Luscious Lima Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
AWESOME! I made a little bacon and used the bacon grease to cook up the veggies. I also added a can of chopped tomatoes towards the end. YUM-0! I'll be making this one again for sure. We are a SOUP family and this ones a keeper. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I was so wrapped up scarfing it down that I forgot to take a picture, as I normally would. Yum! My boyfriend liked it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
We made it with onion in place of the shallots, and used canned vegetable broth rather than bouillon. It was fantastic, and fairly easy! We did have to add quite a bit of salt though for it to taste right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I initially made this because it is a very economical recipe, and I had limited funds for food that week. I love lima beans, but carrots and celery are by no means my favorite veggies, and in combination with the simplicity of the soup, I wasn't expecting much. I was completely caught off guard by how good this soup is! Everything mingles together so well, and it is very flexible as far as quantities. Already looking forward to making another big pot of this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I love this soup. It has a great taste and is very filling. I did add 1 garlic clove minced for a little more flavor. However, I would recommend all bean lovers to try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I made a few changes I added one can of tomato soup and used boxed chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. I also added a ham bone and a bay leaf and 1 tbsp. parsley. I didn't have a leek so I just used an onion. Sauteing the vegies and then the beans is key. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
WOW! Never thought I would love lima bean soup. I had some dry lima beans in the pantry and was looking for some way to utilize these. I followed the recipe except added a bay leaf, a dash of thyme and a bit more salt. Would definitely make this again. Healthy, cheap and nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Made this on a 17 degree winter day and boy did it hit the spot! I did however add cut up ham steak and LOOK OUT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Musgrove

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This was good, but next time, I will cut back on the carrots as 5 were way too many for our liking. Also, used chicken broth instead of the water and bouillion and added crumbled and browned sweet sausage. Nice winter soup. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Wow! So inexpensive to make and so very tasty. I followed the recipe as written except for using onion instead of leeks and shallots, boxed chicken stock instead of the cubes, and I added two carrots. I served cornbread with it. Even my picky six year old finished his bowl of soup. I will definitely make this one again and again. Thank you for contributing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States