Luscious Lima Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Tasty, healthy, and economical! A nice vegetarian alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Don't skip this soup! It's a creamy, rich-tasting, healthy soup that is outstanding in colder months. Very hearty, and really lovely looking too with the white 'cream-like' base, a bits of carrots and celery for texture & color. My husband loves this soup and even lima bean haters ask for seconds. I use "Better than Boullion" Vegetable broth base instead of cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Really yummy. I cooked the lima beans with 3 cloves of garlic. Didn't have leek or shallot, used 2 small onions, celery, 3 carrots and 1 parsnip saute'd with about 1/2 lb of smoked turkey sausage. Used vegetable flavor Better than Bouillon Brand for the broth. Sooooo good! Green salad and bread and that's dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bracha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This is wonderful soup!! I followed it closely, but had to substitute onion for leeks and shallots. I added bacon sliced into one inch pieces and a bay leaf. The soup is delicious, the lima beans are silky and light. (Nothing like the dry pasty limas I've eaten before. ) All in all a definite crowd pleaser! This will definitely be a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I wouldn't call this quick, but it is pretty easy and very satisfying - especially on a cold day. We loved it. I used 4 cups of veggie stock and 1 bouillon cube to cut back on sodium, but then had to add a dash of salt. I also added a bay leaf, a pinch of thyme and a large dash of white pepper. We will make this again and again. Though we are vegetarian I could tell this soup would be off the charts if a ham bone was added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Wonderful recipe, have made it for several friends and everyone loves it!! A 14oz. can of diced tomatoes is a wonderful addition, but just as good without it too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I found this recipe decent enough. I used 3 carrots, 1 large, 2 small, because I didn't have enough and a quarter of a small white onion instead of the shallots and leek. I don't know if it's because I didn't use enough vegetables, but the soup was a little salty. This is a great base recipe but I definitely plan on adding a can of tomatoes next time and maybe some parley to liven it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Great stick to your ribs taste but timing off. Used the one hr soak method and ended up adding more water after 1.5 hrs as it was not done. Had to serve it the next day as I ended up cooking several hours. Next time I will cook in the crock pot. WONDERFUL taste though. Used an onion vs leeks and added some bacon. Wondered if the salt from the bacon may have increased the cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
since hubby has recently been laid off I'm looking for cheap nutritious meals. Loved this! Only thing I did differently was use 4 cups of veg broth/4 cups of water instead of the bouillon. That said, at the end I decided to add a generous sprinkling of black pepper, Thyme and a light-handed sprinkle of salt. I'll see how it tastes for my lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Followed the suggestions... added a couple dashes of thyme, crushed bay leaves, onion powder, fresh and powdered garlic, and some fresh button mushrooms! Used water instead of veggie broth, and just added a little bit of salt. Threw it all in a crock pot for 12 hours on low. Delicious!!! Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States