Luscious Lima Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Wonderful recipe, have made it for several friends and everyone loves it!! A 14oz. can of diced tomatoes is a wonderful addition, but just as good without it too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I found this recipe decent enough. I used 3 carrots, 1 large, 2 small, because I didn't have enough and a quarter of a small white onion instead of the shallots and leek. I don't know if it's because I didn't use enough vegetables, but the soup was a little salty. This is a great base recipe but I definitely plan on adding a can of tomatoes next time and maybe some parley to liven it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Great stick to your ribs taste but timing off. Used the one hr soak method and ended up adding more water after 1.5 hrs as it was not done. Had to serve it the next day as I ended up cooking several hours. Next time I will cook in the crock pot. WONDERFUL taste though. Used an onion vs leeks and added some bacon. Wondered if the salt from the bacon may have increased the cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
since hubby has recently been laid off I'm looking for cheap nutritious meals. Loved this! Only thing I did differently was use 4 cups of veg broth/4 cups of water instead of the bouillon. That said, at the end I decided to add a generous sprinkling of black pepper, Thyme and a light-handed sprinkle of salt. I'll see how it tastes for my lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Followed the suggestions... added a couple dashes of thyme, crushed bay leaves, onion powder, fresh and powdered garlic, and some fresh button mushrooms! Used water instead of veggie broth, and just added a little bit of salt. Threw it all in a crock pot for 12 hours on low. Delicious!!! Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is fall weather comfort food! This is a mellow, yet, flavorable dinner dish. A very easy meal to make: just put the bean in a pot to soak overnight or early in the morning, then put the soup together and just let the soup simmer until the beans are soft. I did add a ham hock since I had it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Very good! I am going to try it i the crock put next time. Thanks for a great Vegan recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Della

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parkesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
VERY good! i feasted on this recipe and its leftovers for a week! I Never tired of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I made this because I had bought a bag of dried lima beans at a grocery outlet store for 25 cents, and I had all the other ingredients on hand. Like other reviewers, I wasn't expecting something great. I only wanted a recipe to use the beans. What a surprise! It was unexpectedly rich and creamy (I pureed 3 cups of the soup to thicken it up), and so flavorful. I followed there recipe exactly and only added a teaspoon of salt and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper. We had this soup, a wedge salad and bread and it was a great supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was the first soup I tried after deciding to go vegetarian. It is amazing! Thank you for such an easy and great-tasting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States