Luscious Lima Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Excellent! I used chicken broth instead of veggie and added a couple of smoked pork neckbones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Photo by P.Smith
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I'm a soupaholic, and this is one of my favorites. I followed the recipe other than subbing 1 cup of chopped onion for the leek and shallots. I added a 14.5 oz. can of diced tomatoes, an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce and a tbsp. of minced garlic. This soup is even better the next day. Five stars and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Wow, what a delicious soup and turned out just like the picture. The soup was creamy and tasty, the Lima beans soft like butter. I had never made Lima soup before and so glad and a favorite. Of course my husband loved it too. My favorite was always Pea soup but I think I've been converted. The Lima beans are so light and velvety and the carrots add a touch of sweetness. I cooked with ham hocks so extra delicious and never forget the Bay leaves, but next time I think I'll try the veggie only way. I made a mistake and pureed it a little too much, big mistake since those Lima beans are the stars of the show. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I added a can of crushed tomatoes, but other than that, it was perfect! I don't know why, but to me it smelled really funny when it was cooking. I refused to eat it until my fiance said it was AMAZING and I gave in. This one's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Wow! So inexpensive to make and so very tasty. I followed the recipe as written except for using onion instead of leeks and shallots, boxed chicken stock instead of the cubes, and I added two carrots. I served cornbread with it. Even my picky six year old finished his bowl of soup. I will definitely make this one again and again. Thank you for contributing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Made this on a 17 degree winter day and boy did it hit the spot! I did however add cut up ham steak and LOOK OUT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Musgrove

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
WOW! Never thought I would love lima bean soup. I had some dry lima beans in the pantry and was looking for some way to utilize these. I followed the recipe except added a bay leaf, a dash of thyme and a bit more salt. Would definitely make this again. Healthy, cheap and nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
MMMMMMM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Great Recipe!!!! I added more leek and shallot for a little more flavor. 1st time I made it I over sauted the vegetables, 2nd time I sauted leek & shallots, threw in Limas and at the last minute threw in vegies. This allowed the Limas and the vegies to finish up better at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I thought this soup was great! I didn't even saute' the vegetables -- just threw them in the crockpot after the beans had softened -- and it turned out wonderful. This is a tasty, low-calorie vegan soup that I will definitely make again. Note: I didn't have as many carrots as the recipe called for, but I did have a leftover rutabaga that I cut up and threw in. It was a terrific addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pillowtrot

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States