Luscious Lima Bean Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
I wasn't sure about this soup but it is fantastic. The only thing I changed was the potatoes. I used sweet potatoes because that was all I had. I followed everything else to a T. My husband LOVED it. I was short on time so I cooked it on the stove instead. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YINMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooksville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Great Recipe!! My whole family loved it. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
YUM- EEEE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Very good - I make a similar version. Smoked pork hocks or shanks. After a few hours, trim the fat (discard) and dice the meat and re-add it back into the soup. I only use corriander (a pinch or so) and pepper for spices. No bacon, potatoes, celery or butter needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Uh.... like...YUM?!! I was not expecting this to be nearly as good as it is! (sorry for doubting!) I used turkey bacon, so I didn't pre-cook it. Might add one less can of chicken broth next time so it'll be thicker. But the broth itself is wonderful! I never knew lima bean soup could be so delish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This was pretty tasty! I like my soup a little less brothy, so in the future I might puree a bit of it to make it feel thicker. I also added a touch of garlic to it as well. Cured my craving for lima bean soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This was so good!!! I left out the butter and cooked it on the stovetop for and hour and a half instead of the slow cooker. I never thought lima beans could be so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I liked this soup a lot - I've tried it with bacon and with ham - it's equally good both ways. I will put it in my soup rotation. And, the best thing about it - it's easy! (I didn't feel that 3 slices of bacon was really enough when I followed the directions the first time - perhaps more would have made it a 5 star recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Very good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Claye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Really good! Used a bag of baby lima beans and Fordhook limas (bigger) and some diced ham. Yummy for a cold winter's day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrianne Son-Hing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States