Luscious Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I thought this cake was very dry, i used a stick of butter instead of oil, maybe it was my my mistake. will not use again, maybe next time i will use lemon zest half butter half oil and maybe some buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
WE LOVE THIS LEMON CAKE!! I used a silicone bundt mold and left the cake in it for 4 hours before taking it out.....no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paticake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I needed to make a lemon birthday cake, so I baked this in a 9x13" pan and frosted it with the Lemon Icing recipe on this site. It was FABulous! All of us chocoholics went nuts for it! The only thing I changed about the cake recipe was I upped the water to 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This cake is good, but make sure you use extra flour when preparing the pan b/c it is a sticky mess if you don't. I used a bundt pan.My cakes generally don't stick. An angel food pan would be easier but not as pretty. When inverting it about 1/3 of my cake stuck and I had to scrap it out and stick it together. When I tried to center the cake it wouldn't budge. I used fresh lemon juice for the glaze which is good, but the cake is extremely moist and super,super sweet. I may try to make this again b/c I really love lemon cake. The glaze causes the cake to stick when inverting so be careful. Perhaps making less of the glaze and pouring it over once the cake has been inverted would be a good solution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Durham Byrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
ABSOLUTELY LOVELY LIGHT CAKE LEMON. I USED CREAM CHEESE AND RASBERRY FILLING IN THE MIDDLE, COVERED WITH A LEMON CREAM CHEESE FROSTING! TASTED SPECTACULAR! had to cook longer than the recipe called for, but may have been my oven or the shape of pan I used, not sure. Any way, it was delightful! Had to bake a second cake that night for my fiancée!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peacefulady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I've made this cake three times now and its moist and lemony every time. I follow the recipe exactly. Deicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Baked for work and got rave reviews. Very very moist and nice and lemony. Followed directions to a "T". I had no problem getting the cake out of the bundt pan. A cooking tip that my sister taught me is to buy a product called Bakers Joy. It is in the baking section of your local grocery store. It is in a can and is oil and flour combined. You just spray your bundt pan with it. Works perfect every time. I only waited about 15 minutes to flip the cake out of the bundt pan and it turned out perfect. (See photo) Thanks Heather
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
this cake tickled my palate! it is sooo deliciously yummy!!! my husband loved it and ate half of the cake in one sitting, that is how good it is!!! so much for his diet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
I fell in love with a lemon cake at a local restaurant and went in search of the recipe. This recipe is even better! I bake it in 2 round cake pans and pour the glaze on while they are still in the pan. I also poke tiny holes in the cake as mentioned earlier. Then I frost it with cream cheese frosting. SO GOOD! It is now my most requested dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
This cake is fantastic! It's very easy, so new bakers shouldn't have a problem impressing family, or friends. And the taste is great. It is very moist. Also, a little tip, instead of flouring the pan, sugar it, with granulated sugar. It works just as well, & doesn't leave a white residue on the cake. I garnished with fresh lemon whipped cream, & YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Signal Mountain, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States