Luscious Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I love this recipe (perfect for those last minute requirements) and have made it for a number of years with slight variation. I have used both yellow and white cake mixes and typically use the white one. I bake in a bundt and cool enought to remove. I place on a plate and poke numerous deep holes with a long serving fork or a skewer. I then slowly pour the hot glaze over it. Don't worry if some pools at the base. The trick to making this cake is to make it ahead (the night before or early morning). This allows time for the glaze to absorb into the cake and make it so moist and flavorful! The ideas for frosting and toppings listed in the comments are intriguing and I'll try some new additions now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Way too soft and mushy, fell apart when I inverted the pan onto the plate... very disappointed, this was supposed to be a birthday cake for my co-worker!! Tastes good, though! lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Ok, I made this cake exactly as stated...it was almost too sour to eat but it had wonderful flavor..I KNOW..doesn't make sense but it's true. That is why I'm giving this 5 stars...because with a little tweaking, this cake is fantastic! If you love, and I mean, LOVE lemon..this cake is for you. Here's what I changed...made cake as stated plus 1TBS of zest. Made the lemon syrup with real lemons and decreased the amount to 1/3 cup and conf. sugar to 2C (heated in microwave). I made a 2 layer cake (poking holes in cakes with a fork) and divided the syrup between them (leaving them in their pans for about an hour after soaking) Then frosted with a cream cheese frosting which was lightly flavored with 1TBS of zest and 1-2TBS of real lemon juice (to taste) and refrig. overnight. WOW... Absolutely our only lemon cake from now on. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NotJulia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This cake was great...the hit of the party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This cake is pure lemony goodness. I don’t usually like box cakes but this has a homemade taste. I used ¼ lemon juice with the water. I thought it would be nice to pour the glaze on the top but that would have just made a sticky mess. I was skeptical about pouring the glaze on the bottom but it worked perfectly and seeped through the entire cake without making the cake soggy. My entire family loved this and have already requested that we make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
It was excellent. I definitely prefer lemon cake recipes which use the lemon pudding instead of lemon jello. The lemon jello gives it a rubbery texture. Also, I did not cook the glaze -- just mixed the powdered sugar with the lemon juice. It helps to remove the lumps if you sift the powdered sugar first. I baked in a large (10 x 12) pyrex pan and poured glaze over top. Following advice of others, I poked holes in the top before pouring on the glaze. Tasted excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
The cake was very simple and good. I substituted applesauce for the oil and used real lemon juice. The whole family enjoyed it served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Davis
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I made this into a two layer cake and my family loved it. Our favorite cake yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I'm a lemon freak so I followed some other reviewers' tips and added 1 tsp of lemon extract and used lemonade instead of water. My batter was extremely thick, so I ended up adding another 1/4 c. lemonade so I could operate the mixer for 5 minutes. Used cooking spray for baking and sugar to coat the bundt pan and cake inverted easily after maybe 20 minutes. As a beginner, I didn't understand beating the eggs until they were thick, so I just beat them a minute or so. I also didn't understand the concept of pouring in the glaze to the bottom of the cake in the bundt pan... I thought it would make it too gooey. I ended up putting on maybe half of the glaze after the cake was inverted and partially cooled -- don't think it helped it. Next time I will probably just dust with powdered sugar for appearance, because this cake would be plenty delicious and moist without the glaze. Thanks for a great recipe. Now who will save me from eating the whole thing today??!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This was an excellent cake. To the cake; I added the rind of 1/2 a lemon. It was extremely moist. Fresh rind always keeps a cake moist. I made it in 2 9" layers and baked them for 30 min. I didn't use the frosting as I wanted it filled between layers (I slit each to make 4 layers) with a lemon filling recipe that was quite unusual. 4oz. Cream cheese soften, 3/4 c. lemonade concentrate & 1 can sweetened condensed milk. Beat together and fold in cool whip. It was a superb choice. Used more grated rind and strawberries for finishing touches around top and base of cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States