Luscious Four-Layer PHILLY Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is a christmas eve tradition in our house for several years!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I wish I could rate this a 10, this was seriously one of the most amazing cakes I've ever had. My favorite cake otherwise is Carrot, and the texture and taste of the whip cream frosting reminded me of it. It was way good! I only changed one thing, I used 1/3 cup of apple sauce and 1/4 cup oil. (If I recall)....I love adding a lot of apple sauce to my cakes, it always makes it so good.The apple sauce just makes it so much than when using oil. I used Hershey's caramel and drizzled it not only over the top but added more to my own slice. After letting it soak over night in the cake, it had the most richest sweetest taste, it was really to die for. Wouldn't change anything else, it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This cake was delicious!!! I doubled the frosting recipe good thing I did, It seemed like otherwise it was not enough for all the layers, I had enough to frost the top layer as well, then did the carmel and pecans on top. Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was the first layer cake I've ever made, and it turned out great! We didn't have any pumpkin pie spice, but used a mixture of cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and cloves instead. At my sister's recommendation, I also made an extra half recipe of the filling so I could lay it on a little thicker. I even forgot to add any pumpkin to the filling but it still tasted great! (In fact my sister thinks it tasted better that way!) We also think it could be great using other kinds of cake mixes too to change the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was a hit at Thanksgiving. Everyone passed up the traditional pumpkin pie for this delicous cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Made this for Thanksgiving, something different from the usual pumkpin pie and everyone loved it. My mother-in-law didn't even offer it up to anyone as they left, I think she's keeping it all to herself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MegD
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Truly a treat! I wanted to mix things up a little and get away from the usual pumpkin pie at Thanksgiving. The Cool Whip in the filling makes a world of difference. The filling looks so rich, but tastes as light as a cloud! The family requested I make this one again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Made this cake a day ahead for a baby shower last October and everyone raved about it. It went before the other cakes and everyone thought I made it from scratch instead of starting with a cake mix (that will be our secret lol). It looks so elegant when done and it was so delicious and moist. I'm making it again for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
We loved it. I wasn't paying attention and used the whole can of pumpkin for the cake. It was wonderful. everyone agreed we should always use the full can. I had another can on hand and used 2/3C of the pumpkin in the filling. It was good the first day, but we all liked it better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I have been making this cake for the past three years around the holidays and it is ALWAYS a huge hit. Some things that I changed... -I buy an extra can of pumpkin and add a little more to the batter (about 1/4 cup extra) -Instead of adding milk to the batter, I use pumpkin spice coffee creamer. -vanilla -butter instead of oil -a little extra pumpkin spice For the filling... -I use 1 1/4 packages of cream cheese -1 1/2 cup powdered sugar -a little extra spice -I add 1/3 stick butter -tsp vanilla When I layer the cake, I drizzle caramel on each layer. The original recipe is of course terrific but I really like to tweak things here and there. I think it really does make a difference. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States