Luscious Four-Layer PHILLY Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I made this luscious cake twice already this year and it is fabulous! I followed the reciped as written and my family and guests loved it. I only used one cake mix, as others doubled, and one cake mix is definately enough. I also followed tips and used dental floss to slice through my layers. I started the cut with a knife and then ran dental floss through the entire cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Delicious! The only thing I do differently is add in more pumpkin. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Wonderful and tasty. Very moist. I accidentally added more pie spice, but still turned out great. It had great pumpkin flavor and was a nice alternative to pumpkin pie (which I am not a big fan of because of the texture). I will definitely be making this again. I've already had a request for it to be made for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I love it!! I only had pumpkin pie in a can and I just drained it to get most of the liquid out. I didn't use cool whip, I used the powder whipped topping. I love the taste of pumpkin so I also used lots of pumpkin spice. . . .don't be shy with it! It smelled GREAT and tasted even better! I can't wait to make it again! I didn't top it with anything. I'll be honest it wasn't the prettiest cake, but with its taste, it didn't matter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I have made this cake every year since Kraft first published it. I can't even eat it anymore but I still make it because I know how delicious it is and how everyone raves over it. The trick to cutting 4 layers from 2 standard cake rounds is using thread and pulling it thru the layers gently but firmly. Cuts perfect layers every time. Also, using Spice cake mix instead of yellow a big plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emberashton
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I made two 6" cakes and 4 cupcakes with this recipe. I filled the layers with the provided recipe and frosted it with cream cheese frosting. After cutting the layers to make them even, I had the tops of the cakes left over. To use them I cut them into small pieces and baked them again until they got dried out and crumbly. I put them in a small blender to make them crumbs. Once the cake was frosted I used the crumbs to coat the side of the cake as decoration. I had some whole walnuts as well and put those around the top edges as decoration. I wish I could upload a picture because it tured out really nice. With the cupcakes I had I filled them with the cream cheese/pumpkin filling, then piped cream cheese frosting on top and added a walnut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This cake is wonderful...I'd give it six stars if I could! Huge hit with my coworkers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I added an extra step. I frosted cake with whip cream. I wanted it to be for a birthday cake for my coffee gang. It was gone by the end of the party. The guys all begged for a 2nd piece. I used home made caramel sauce as I find it simple to make a small amount as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Made this for Thanksgiving this year and everyone loved it. I followed the original recipe on the kraft website. The only difference is a 15oz. can of pumpkin and 8oz. tub of cool whip (I ended up using about 2 cups of cool whip)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
The cake was ok... it needed more of a pumpkin flavor. The filling also needed something as well. They were not terrible, but I have had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Heston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States