Luscious Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
I LOVE THIS RECIPE. I'VE ALWAYS LOVED EEGNOG BUT THIS IS EVEN BETTER!!!!Thanks for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
This was delicious! I skipped the food coloring and no one minded. Really tasty, rich and delicious. I don't see how it makes 10 servings, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
Pretty good recipe, even without the alcohol. It was a little rich, but I guess it's supposed to be. I like the fact that the eggs are cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
This was absolutely the best. We live in Russia and can't get eggnog here. This tasted just like eggnog from 'home'. I really like the fact that the eggs are cooked. This is best prepared the night before, by the next day, it is completely chilled and has an eggnog flavor rather than an eggy flavor. 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Just made this again!! There's no way to get 10 servings out of 2 1/2cups of milk, you have to double the recipe..I first warm the milk then add it slowly to the YOLKS and sugar(I don't use the whites!!) and cook it in a water bath, there's no way to get "scrambled eggs" (it will take a little longer to cook). I always add some cinnamon along with the nutmeg, it's always great!!! **If you want eggnog that's not too thick ...like some people said... just use "light" cream, it's just as good!! "Happy Holidays!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
This is wonderful. I wanted to make eggnog with cooked eggs (didn't want to risk getting sick on a holiday) and this recipe is delicious and easy to make. It's so rich it reminded me of an ice cream drink. Everyone loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This was a wonderful recipe, but I see that many who reviewed this recipe no little about "tempering" raw egg. Mix the eggs, sugar, and salt together first. Heat your milk until it comes to a simmer. Now take a little of the hot milk and add to the egg mixture, stirring constantly. Do this a little at a time until your egg mixture is warm and close to the temperture of your milk. Gradually add the egg mixture to the saucepan. This should avoid curdling or "scrambled eggs" in your nog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
Pretty decent! Not too different from my Mother in Law's eggnog, which is to DIE for! A definite plus is the custard base since i'm pregnant and don't want to risk raw eggs, nor will I give raw eggs to my children. A much creamier, smoother egg nog than store bought, and worth the little time and effort spent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
Yummy! I wanted a great recipe that conained no raw eggs and this was it! A few cloves and a cinnamon stick to the sauce pan were all the changes I made. Oh, and I didn't have any rum or food coloring on hand. Thanks, Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I added nutmeg, cinnamon, and cloves to the mixture while it was being cooked. After I let the mixture cool, I strained it to get rid of the bits of eggs and clumps of seasoning. This was the best eggnog I've ever had, and all of the people at the party that I brought it to enjoyed it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States