Luscious Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Cathy
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I loved this recipe! The only changes I made were to make it less calories/fat. I used Splenda instead of sugar and instead of heaving whipping cream I broke it down and used 50% fat-free half and half and 50% whipping cream. This made it not as thick. My guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was tasty, but waaay too much work. Impressively, my 12 year old made this herself, but it's not a recipe I consider easy and it certainly wasn't quick. We like the Eggnog I recipe much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I was skeptical when I first tried it because it had not completely chilled and it had a "eggy" smell. After letting it sit overnight, it turned out WONDERFUL. I didn't have heavy cream so I used thawed cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkins, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
The taste is way too bland. Adding some nutmeg and cinnamon didn't help much. The heating process involved is somewhat tricky. I followed one reviewer's "egg-tempering" suggestion, but the mixture, after 6-7 minutes of stirring, just curdled up. By using immersion blender, I was able to rescue it. After cooling and blending in the whipped cream, the texture wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is a great recipe! It was a little difficult for a fairly inexperienced cook. I took me two tries to get it right. The first time it got chunky, even with "tempering" the eggs. The next time I did it I didn't cook it as long and it turned out really well. I tried the recipe called "Amazingly Good Eggnog" last year because it was rated so highly, but it didn't taste much like eggnog to me and others at the party, and it didn't get consumed. This one was a hit! I did add more alcohol (rum and brandy); made the party a little happier ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
MMMM so good! I thought this was delicous, however my boyfriend didn't like it and refused to drink any after trying a sip (he said it just tasted like sweet milk) To try and make it more pleasing for him I mixed in about 1/2 tsp allspice and nutmeg, but it still didn't work. I followed the tempering instruction by Sher1950 and got no bits of cooked eggs. This still gets 5 stars from me, despite what my crazy boyfriend thinks =P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessicca

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I chose this recipe because it uses cooked eggs. I read what other had to say and tempered the eggs so they did not scramble. I loved the eggnog before the whipped cream was added and after I added the whipped cream no one would drink it all you could taste was cream even over the rum. I'm making it again tomorrow but will not be adding whipped cream to it. The eggnog itself gets 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This has a really good taste, but it turned out really thick for me. I followed the advice of a review that said to simmer the milk first, and then slowly mix in the yolks. I only had a few "scrambled egg" clumps, but it was easy to pick those out. My husband and I ended up eating it with a spoon, as it was so thick. Maybe it's because I didn't add the rum?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
OMG!! This eggnog is AMAZING! I live in the UK and you can't get eggnog in any of the grocery stores, so I've had to make it, and I LOVE this recipe, and so does everybody that tries it. The first night I made it, I followed the recipe exactly, but it went so fast that I tripled the recipe the next day, people keep raving about it, definite keeper. It's so easy to make, thanks so much for an incredible recipe. A few changes that I made, I added some scotch whiskey, and cognac as well as the rum. I also used double cream in place of the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This recipe here is why I love allrecipes.com ~This is the absolute BEST eggnog recipe. I've made it for the past 2 years and everytime it's served I receive compliments and requests for seconds. Wonderful 'nog! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EricaLynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States