Luscious Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
turned out great! I stirred it the whole time it cooked and there were no lumps. It was perfect. If you dont stir it the whole time it cooks, then you will have lumpy eggy custard. Just follow directions. I used a ball whisk, which is almost my favorite cooking utensil in my kitchen. Also I times it by 8....yes 8X so it took 45 minutes of stirring and cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
If you want SCRAMBLED EGGNOG, please feel free to use this. By the way, DON"T TURN IT UP TO MEDIUM HEAT, USE LOW! This is about a year or two later... I just wanted to say that I'm so sorry for yelling on here but this recipe seriously scrambled the eggs! I was told by a family member that you do NOT want to use anything higher than low heat or else the eggs will basically cook themselves all the way through. I think I'll stick with that family member's recipe... (they make the BEST eggnog! It's literally to DIE for!! But they don't make it often.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Made this with a few changes (apricot brandy instead of rum, cardomom rather than nutmeg) and it came out great. I do think I should have added one more egg though for a more eggy flavor, but all in all its a great recipe! My husband loved it so I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I loved this recipe! The only changes I made were to make it less calories/fat. I used Splenda instead of sugar and instead of heaving whipping cream I broke it down and used 50% fat-free half and half and 50% whipping cream. This made it not as thick. My guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was tasty, but waaay too much work. Impressively, my 12 year old made this herself, but it's not a recipe I consider easy and it certainly wasn't quick. We like the Eggnog I recipe much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I was skeptical when I first tried it because it had not completely chilled and it had a "eggy" smell. After letting it sit overnight, it turned out WONDERFUL. I didn't have heavy cream so I used thawed cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkins, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
The taste is way too bland. Adding some nutmeg and cinnamon didn't help much. The heating process involved is somewhat tricky. I followed one reviewer's "egg-tempering" suggestion, but the mixture, after 6-7 minutes of stirring, just curdled up. By using immersion blender, I was able to rescue it. After cooling and blending in the whipped cream, the texture wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is a great recipe! It was a little difficult for a fairly inexperienced cook. I took me two tries to get it right. The first time it got chunky, even with "tempering" the eggs. The next time I did it I didn't cook it as long and it turned out really well. I tried the recipe called "Amazingly Good Eggnog" last year because it was rated so highly, but it didn't taste much like eggnog to me and others at the party, and it didn't get consumed. This one was a hit! I did add more alcohol (rum and brandy); made the party a little happier ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
MMMM so good! I thought this was delicous, however my boyfriend didn't like it and refused to drink any after trying a sip (he said it just tasted like sweet milk) To try and make it more pleasing for him I mixed in about 1/2 tsp allspice and nutmeg, but it still didn't work. I followed the tempering instruction by Sher1950 and got no bits of cooked eggs. This still gets 5 stars from me, despite what my crazy boyfriend thinks =P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessicca

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I chose this recipe because it uses cooked eggs. I read what other had to say and tempered the eggs so they did not scramble. I loved the eggnog before the whipped cream was added and after I added the whipped cream no one would drink it all you could taste was cream even over the rum. I'm making it again tomorrow but will not be adding whipped cream to it. The eggnog itself gets 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States