Luscious Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Prepared as written; not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was great! Not too sweet, a little time consuming, but worth it. I used skim milk and heated it in the microwave, adding it slowly to the egg/sugar mixture, then heated on med-low heat. I used 1 1/2 tsp rum extract (for the double recipe) instead of rum. I doubled the recipe to make just over 1/2 gallon. I still need to cut it with milk because it is too thick for me - so next time I will try half-half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This recipe is awesome! I blended the egg, salt, sugar and milk in a blender before I put them in the sauce pan. I also followed another viewers advice when cooking the milk mixture, I started cooking on low and gradually moved to medium heat, no higher and when the mixture coated the back of the spoon I removed the pot and immediately put it over ice. It came out perfect and tastes better then next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
The only change I made was adding a half teaspoon of cinnamon to the custard while cooking. I did this because I like cinnamon. The rest was done as written. It came out perfectly delicious and smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JocyCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Thank you BethR117! You saved my eggnog. I followed the recipe exactly but still ended up with lumpy custard. After reading your review I ran the hot custard through my kitchen blender then let it cool. It was perfect after adding the whipped cream . We'll be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5COOKIEMUNCHERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndeborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I did not think this was nearly sweet enough. I will def at least double the sugar next time. I picked this one b/c it called for the eggs to be cooked, as I was nervous about raw eggs. It did get a little lumpy once I folded in the heavy whipping cream mixture, so I kept stirring until it was smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasksi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This was pretty good. I thought that it could have had some more spices in it, cinnamon and maybe some cloves, but other than that it was a hit. I left out the rum, which could be why I wanted more spices, since I was serving this to kids. I will make this again but next time I'm going to add a cinnamon stick and some whole cloves to the custard mix while I cook it. I left out the food coloring as I didn't think it needed it. Made the custard the day before and let it sit in the fridge overnight. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Having never had homemade eggnog before, I can only compare it to store bought. I will never buy store bought again! It is time consuming, but so worth it. It is best if you make it a day or two before you need it because it is good the first day, but even better the following day. I added a little cinnamon and nutmeg to the egg mixture before heating. After reading the reviews, I decided to start on low and gradually increase heat until it was eventually on medium. No scrambled eggs for me, it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This eggnog was not only easy but is so delicious! I love the fact that it is cooked because I am pregnant and have little ones. We will definitely be making more because it went so fast! The only changes I made were that I left out the rum, again because I am pregnant and serving children. I also left out the food coloring because I do not see the point. Thanks for wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
The egg was so bad in it, I thought I sifted out all the scrambled part but I missed a bunch or it just turned chunky while it chilled. My husband also thought it was way to much rum (and he's in the Army and isn't afraid to knock back a few). If you venture to try this recipe, defiantly follow what the other reviewers said about cooking the egg but I think it would have been better raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States