Luscious Apple Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
My husband loved this, but I thought it was a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
FABULOUS!!! Really, really great base recipe. I made the following modifications, and everyone raved about it. First, I used spice cake instead of angel food cake. I actually can't imagine it being as good without it. The mixture of fall flavors just really made it so scrumptious. I also substituted a 1/2 cup of the milk with a 1/2 cup of Bailey's Irish Cream, and this made the pudding mixture out of this world. Finally, I used 5 Gala applies. I was nervous about them browing, so as I chopped them, I placed them in a solution of lemon juice and water, and then drained the liquid out. We're on day 2 of leftovers and the apples are still crisp and perfect as if I had just cut them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I made this twice for pot lucks. It was devoured each time. I made a mistake and sprinkled 1/2 Tablespoon cinnamon instead of 1/2 teaspoon. They loved it anyway. The second time I made it, I accidentally forgot to add the Cool Whip to the cream cheese mixture. Still good. This recipe is definitely a winner and a half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Not my thing. kind of bland. Took to a party and all I heard was it's ok. There are others I have had better luck with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This was wonderful. I tossed the apples with a little lemon juice so they wouldn't brown and used pound cake instead of angel food as another reviewer did. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Made this recipe for Thanksgiving. I wanted to bring something a with a different flavor other than the traditional pumpkin or apple pie. The family said it was a "HIT"!!! Was very easy to make & was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I rec'd rave reviews but I did not care for it personally. I would make it for a potluck but not for my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trac689

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
this was the most amazing dessert ever! took it to a friends for dinner, this is what they will ask me to bring all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This was so easy to make, it tasted heavenly, and everyone loved it and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmsteen

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This turned out VERY GOOD! I will make again. Instead of Angel food cake I made a white box mix cake. I also used non fat cream cheese and cool whip. I didn't think it would be pleasant to crunch into apples when you were eating a mooshy trifle so I took the chopped apples and cooked them with some brown sugar and cinnamon in a pan just until they were soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach LeBlanc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States