Luscious Apple Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
My husband loved this, but I thought it was a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
FABULOUS!!! Really, really great base recipe. I made the following modifications, and everyone raved about it. First, I used spice cake instead of angel food cake. I actually can't imagine it being as good without it. The mixture of fall flavors just really made it so scrumptious. I also substituted a 1/2 cup of the milk with a 1/2 cup of Bailey's Irish Cream, and this made the pudding mixture out of this world. Finally, I used 5 Gala applies. I was nervous about them browing, so as I chopped them, I placed them in a solution of lemon juice and water, and then drained the liquid out. We're on day 2 of leftovers and the apples are still crisp and perfect as if I had just cut them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I made this twice for pot lucks. It was devoured each time. I made a mistake and sprinkled 1/2 Tablespoon cinnamon instead of 1/2 teaspoon. They loved it anyway. The second time I made it, I accidentally forgot to add the Cool Whip to the cream cheese mixture. Still good. This recipe is definitely a winner and a half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Not my thing. kind of bland. Took to a party and all I heard was it's ok. There are others I have had better luck with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This was wonderful. I tossed the apples with a little lemon juice so they wouldn't brown and used pound cake instead of angel food as another reviewer did. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Made this recipe for Thanksgiving. I wanted to bring something a with a different flavor other than the traditional pumpkin or apple pie. The family said it was a "HIT"!!! Was very easy to make & was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I rec'd rave reviews but I did not care for it personally. I would make it for a potluck but not for my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trac689

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
this was the most amazing dessert ever! took it to a friends for dinner, this is what they will ask me to bring all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This was so easy to make, it tasted heavenly, and everyone loved it and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmsteen

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This turned out VERY GOOD! I will make again. Instead of Angel food cake I made a white box mix cake. I also used non fat cream cheese and cool whip. I didn't think it would be pleasant to crunch into apples when you were eating a mooshy trifle so I took the chopped apples and cooked them with some brown sugar and cinnamon in a pan just until they were soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach LeBlanc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States