Lunch Box Hot Hot Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Okay I thought this was a really good way to send my child to school with a hot meal. I've tried this a couple of times, but the bun always gets all wet when i dump out the water to replace it? I don't know if I'm missing something, but i don't know how to keep the bun from getting soggy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
My mom always made this for lunch using the previous night's chili in the thermos. Instant Chili Dog for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
After heating the Thermos, I fill it with hot Spaghettios and the warmed hot dogs cut into bite-sized pieces. Send a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
this is genious. seriously. add the hot dog sauce & onions instead of the boiling water the second time around & throw in a plastic spoon & a bag of chips & soda; good to goooo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Great idea! My 3rd grader came home drunk from the beer that was suggested as a complimentary drink, but other than that, it worked great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
great idea!! I am definetly trying this for one of our daughters :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Good idea!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Another option, if not already mentioned, is to fill the thermos with tomato soup and hang the hot dog in the soup in the thermos. Then you get a tomatoey flavor to the hot dog (like ketchup) and soup to eat too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Thanks! I'll be using this one all year and with all of the variations. Oh the things you can do with a thermos! I forgot all about the potential. :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi De

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I thought this was a good idea, but our sausages had gone a bit soggy by lunchtime. Thank you so much Purple Hippie for your tip of cooking the sausages, wrapping them in foil and then adding to a warmed, but waterless thermos. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States